Search
< Back to Product

Briggs & Stratton 020570 Gas Pressure Washers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$499.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$499.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$579.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$499.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Briggs & Stratton 020570 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (3)
Light Weight (2)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
Reliable (2)
Durable (2)
Cons
Unreliable (3)
Expensive (2)
So Far Junk (1)
Packaging (1)
See Review (1)
64% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
25 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mike H.
Glen Easton, WV
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/12/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
First shipment was damaged. No problems exchanging it with second product.

Follow directions on use. Starts every time. Runs well. No more pulling recoils will save my neck and back.

Excellent product.
Mike Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
23
G. B.
Weston, FL
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
If You Want A Workout
Bought this about 2 years ago and from the get-go it was a near impossibility to start. Pull and pull and pull and pull . . . Well, you get the idea. I used it about 4 times in 2 years and it is still terrible to start. Nothing easy about it in any way, shape or form.

In pulling the starter cord you will, however, experience the exhilarating feeling of your heart beating nearly out of your chest. Quite the sensation. I am extremely tempted to simply leave it at the curb, but I fear... more
Cons: Unreliable, Difficult To Use, Expensive
G. Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
G.,
A tip that's covered in both the Owner's Manual and Quick Start Guide is to squeeze the trigger gun and let water run through the machine for a couple minutes before trying to start it (every time you try to start it).

This drives all the air out of the pump. Since the engine and the pump are directly connected, air in the pump can prevent the engine from turning over (vapor lock). Running the water through the unit first moves the air out and allows the engine to turn over much more easily.

If you bought the unit from an authorized retailer, it comes with a 2 year Factory Warranty that would repair or replace a defective unit at no cost to you. If your unit is still within the Warranty period you may want to give the folks at Briggs & Stratton a call, toll free, at (800) 743-4115.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
G.,
We're sorry you're having trouble starting the pressure washer. As noted above, please give us a call at 800-743-4115 so we can determine if this is an issue we can fix!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
John
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/29/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Sloppy Assembly
So far I have washed my house with this machine. Works well.

Now the bad points: One of the soap tanks was not seated in its mount and there is no mention in the instructions of the correct way to secure it. I finally got it properly installed and added soap solution. This immediately began leaking out on the ground from the same tank that was not seated initially. Had to fight it back out so as to see what was leaking. It was a capped outlet on the tank whose cap was not installed... more
John Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Douglas W.
Airmont, NY
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/10/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Your Manual Has False Statements
I took the new pressure washer to a local dealer who put the battery in and charged it. I had to pay an up front cost which I should recover.

I would suggest someone change the manual or get better quality control. More use of quick- fits for pressure hoses and NOT thread connections.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive
Douglas Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Douglas,
I'm sorry, but we don't write the manuals for the pressure washers; the manufacturers do. You can contact Briggs & Stratton directly by calling them at (800) 743-4115 or emailing them through their Contact Us link. Please be sure to have the serial number of your unit handy when you contact Briggs & Stratton; they will probably ask for it.

I checked the Owner's Manual, and on Page 9 it shows that the unit is shipped with the battery already installed; all you have to do is charge it (shown on Page 10) and then plug in the battery connection. If that is not the case, then the folks at Briggs & Stratton would need to authorize their repair shop to issue a credit.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mitchell B.
Haughton, LA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/28/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Knock Off Garbage
It's cheap and poorly made, tanks fall off moving it around, hose connections leak, spray wand is an absolute joke and multi spray pattern nozzle is about the worst idea ever, it sprays erratically and doesn't want to "change on the fly".

Also the advertised pressure is not even close.... Maybe 1000psi it's less than the local car wash. Electric start lol.... Battery isnt powerful enough to spin the engine. I've charged it for 72hrs and still nothing.

To sum it up this was... more
Mitchell Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Mitchell,
I am so sorry you are having problems with your pressure washer! I assure you it is really a Briggs & Stratton product, it is not a knock-off.

If you'd like to give the folks at Briggs & Stratton a call at (800) 743-4115 they will help you troubleshoot the unit or replace faulty components. Please have the serial number of your pressure washer handy if you call them.

You can also take it straight to Factory Warranty Service in your area. Their Service Locator shows 2 locations within 15 miles of your zip code: Swan Lake Hardware, 4605 SHED ROAD, BOSSIER CITY, LA 71111, 318-747-8863 and Bossier Power Equipment 862 HAVENS ROAD, SHREVEPORT, LA 71107, 318-227-9928.

You may want to call both locations first to see which one has the shortest turn-around time. You will need to bring a copy of your invoice. Just click on My Account in the upper right corner of our website and follow the prompts to print one out.

We appreciate your business, and apologize for any disappointment or inconvenience.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Penelope P.
Reading, PA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/18/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Disappointed!!!
I purchased this washer to be used in my vacation home specifically for the electric start feature since I already had a Troy-Built machine in good condition. I am a 128 lb woman and could not crank the motor with the pull cord, hence my choice of this one.

Assembly was fairly easy the wand seemed a bit complicated, with an extra safety button to coordinate. The nozzle was intriguing—six different settings in one, all by twisting the head to the desired point. I charged the battery the... more
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, See Review
Penelope Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Penelope,
I am so sorry your pressure washer isn't performing properly! I'm not sure why you are traveling so far for warranty service, though- the Briggs & Stratton Service Locator shows at least 7 repair locations within 20 miles of your zip code.

Since there are multiple locations available you may want to call around first to find out which one has the quickest turn-around time.

While you have the unit in for warranty service they should also be able to work on the fitment of the spray nozzle, or replace it if necessary.

We appreciate your business, and apologize for any inconvenience.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Penelope,
We apologize for the challenges you're having with your Pressure Washer - please contact our team at 1-800-743-4115 so we can take care of you and make recommendations on a dealer closer to your area!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Scott P.
West Columbia, SC
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/21/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ok
The electric start did not work but it was easy to pull start the pressure washer. It may be the battery but I haven't had time yet to check it.
Scott Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Scott,
If you have issues with the electric start, please give the folks at Briggs & Stratton a call, toll free, at (800) 743-4115. Be sure the have the serial number of your pressure washer handy when you call them- they will probably ask for it.
more
Was this review helpful?
23
Owen C.
Crouse, NC
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/2/16
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sweet Machine!
My wife loves to run my power washer. However, she doesn't like to start it because of the pull rope. She went looking for one with a push button start and found it here.

We purchased the unit and it arrived quickly. Upon unpacking the box and inspecting the unit we noticed it was damaged. It was the fault of the shipping carrier. We called the support line and they issued an RMA and immediately sent out another unit. The entire process cost about a week but again this was no fault of... more
Owen Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
13
Louis M.
Elk Grove, CA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/14/16
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Action
Unit arrived in great shape and we unpacked it and set machine up, put in fluids and it kicked over first time out after charging for about 20 hours.

Very happy with it, my bud wants to borrow it already and that is a no-no.
Louis Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Louis,
We are happy you are enjoying your Briggs & Stratton pressure washer. If you ever have any troubles, please feel free to contact us. 1-800-743-4115
more
Was this review helpful?
13
Larry G.
Goldsboro, NC
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/17/14
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Right One For Me
About a month before buying the Briggs & Stratton Powerflow Pressure Washer, I bought another brand from a well known manufacturer. It did a good job but was much too difficult to start. Thankfully, a friend of mine offered to buy it from me.

That is when I began looking online and found Power Equipment Direct. In reading reviews about your company and the Briggs & Stratton Model, I made a decision to buy this unit.

After using this unit fora few weeks, I am extremely happy... more
Larry Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
319
Mary G.
Knoxville, TN
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/15/14
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerflow+ Pressure Washer "fantastic"
I have use different pressure washers and this is the Best ever. Cleans, Easy to Use, Saves time, and not strenuous on your body.

Thanks Pressure Washer Direct & Briggs & Stratton! :)
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Mary Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
186
Wayne B.
Newberry, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/16/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Help Me With This-----all My Life I've Been Taught Idle Down
My new pressure washer is pretty awesome.

It's just that forever I've been taught how important it is to idle the engine down before shutting off. I can't do that with my 3,000 PSI pressure washer.

Please advise me on how to go about idling down.
Wayne Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
145
Joseph G.
Seymour, IN
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/11/15
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I bought this power washer because it has an electric start and i'm getting older. This is my third power washer and it is the best ever !!
Joseph Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
81
John C.
Bowie, MD
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/21/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Order A New Unit Got One Damaged
When I open the box the unit was damage I will attached the pictures:

I did use the unit and I am very happy with the results. the unit mechanically operate great
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Cons: Packaging
John Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
John's Experience With Pressure Washers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"The selection and ordering was seamless, Delivery was great it was in my driveway when I came home from work. Tried to send 2 pictures of the damage front that are jpg but your web site rejected them."
 more
Was this review helpful?
114
William R
Boyce, LA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/30/15
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electric Start Is A Must!
We have owned a couple of pressure washers over the years with various brand names and engines and our biggest complaint has been the difficulty getting them started. I am a petite 5 foot 5 inch tall woman weighing 115 pounds and I would ALWAYS have to get my husband to help pull the starting cord after I was flat out exhausted from trying to start our old washers. So, we decided to buy the Briggs and Stratton with Electric Start.

I got it out of the box myself, used the easy to follow... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
William Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
William's Experience With Pressure Washers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Mike was so very helpful with finding us a pressure washer that would be easy for a woman to start. Thank you! AND, Shipping is FAST!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Robert S.
Great Neck, NY
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 12/18/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Mike was a great help, delivery was fast, and it's a very good machine.
Robert Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Rex L.
Burneyville, OK
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/4/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Works great and I really like the electric start. Just wish the handle was a little longer.
Rex Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
93
Dirk V.
Severy, KS
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/22/14
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not So Fast
Purchased for an 82 year old man who couldn't pull start. Runs great except when water is connected and the trigger is not pulled. The pump has serious flaws. Unit will start and immediately dies as water pressure builds and kills the engine. I have another generac 2,700 psi and this Briggs may, I stress may, produce 1,500 but more than likely about 1,000. Very weak performance by Briggs and Stratton on this product.
Dirk Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Dirk,
I apologize for the issues you are having with the unit. However, I have never heard of this complaint before. This is typical if the engine rocker switch on the unit is not set to the on position. I have attached a link for you to view the quick start up instructions.

If this does not help, the unit is covered under a full 2 year manufacturer warranty. Reach out to the folks at Briggs, and they can direct you to a local service unit to have it checked under warranty. Any questions feel free to call me at 800-710-7499. Thanks

Quick Start Instructions
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dirk,
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us and will help us to continue to improve our products to be the best out there for our customers. Keep in mind, if you run the engine on your pressure washer for 3-5 minutes without pressing the trigger on the spray gun, circulating water in the pump can reach temperatures above 125°-155°F (52°-68°C). The automatic cool down system will then engage to cool the pump by discharging the warm water onto the ground. This may be contributing to the loss of pressure you're describing.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Jennifer H.
Clayton, OK
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/12/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful!
I love this pressure washer. It is wonderful to have the option of electric start or pull start. I work at a lake and needed to get a lot of power washing done at the facilities, and It did a fantastic job, and will for years to come. It's small but powerful, and I take it in the back of my work truck and use it whenever and wherever it's needed. Great investment.
Jennifer Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
33
Warren M.
Potomac, MD
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/14/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Something Wrong
I got my Briggs & Stratton pressured washer less than 3 months ago. Arrived ok. Starts like a charm, but while washing the pressure disappears for about 30 seconds. This makes the product very frustrating. Help me please determine the cause.
Warren Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Warren,
We are sorry to hear about this frustrating situation. It appears you have been in contact with us to discuss this issue. If you are on a well, this can affect the output of water supply in some cases if the gpm and or pressure is not there from your source. Double check your gpm and pressure if possible. This may be just a simple upgrade done to your well system. If you have any other questions, please don't hesitate to give us a call.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
David T.
Memphis, TN
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/2/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Will Never Buy Any Else From Dirrect.
The plastic front was broken when arrived. When it received the shock, the governor spring attachment was bent rendering the governor unresponsive. Therefore the motor would not run.

When I tried to put in a claim, they told me to have it repaired and they would reimburse me. The authorized dealer said that the broken shield was part of the frame and it would cost $350.00 just for the parts..

I did spend $75.00 to get the governor fixed but I will not risk you refusing the reimbursement.
David Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
David,
We have forwarded your information to Briggs and Stratton. Since the unit was fueled before we were notified of the shipping damage, it is too late for us to file a claim on the unit now. We have brought this to Briggs & Statton's warranty department, I will be back in touch with an answer as soon as I can.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
David,
We’re sorry that you have experienced issues with your engine. There is a 2 year warranty time frame covering manufacturing defects and workmanship. Please take the unit into an authorized service center to see if there was a manufacturing defect. Follow this link: http://bit.ly/14yWuSi for a service dealer locator.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Wayne P.
Medina, WA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/2/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Battery Doa All Now Well
When received, the battery was DOA. B&S sent a replacement out right away so all is well. Works as advertised. Loud and small gas tank. love the electric start.

The engine does not recharge the battery so you need to plug in the charger from time to time. I can't seem to get the soap dispenser to be consistent-but i was not counting on this feature anyway.
Wayne Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles K.
Rogersville, MO
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/5/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Pretty Nice!
This power washer works well with good power. My wife loves the electric start.

The multi function nozzle causes it to lose power. I replaced it with a regular one and it works fine.
Charles Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
13
John A.
Pueblo, CO
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Won't Run
Purchased this item in March 2015. Used the first time and it kept stalling. Used the second time it got worse. The third time, it wouldn't start.

Took to a Diamond dealer at the beginning of September, and still don't have it back Oct, 25, 2015.
Cons: Unreliable, So Far Junk
John Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
John,
I'm sorry to hear you're having issues with your pressure washer.

I checked our files and didn't see where you purchased the unit from us, so we wouldn't be able to enlist our Briggs & Stratton rep's help- but you may want to give Briggs & Stratton a call, toll free, at (800) 743-4115 and see if they can work with your service facility to move your repair forward.

Please be sure to have the phone number of the facility you're using and the name of the person you're working with there.The folks at Briggs & Stratton may also ask for a copy of your invoice, so having that handy might be helpful as well.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
We’re sorry to hear about the difficulties you are having with your pressure washer. So that we can thoroughly review and respond, please submit the details of the issue you have been experiencing at the following link: http://bit.ly/15oObYS
more
Was this review helpful?
13
Charles S.
Franklin, NC
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/20/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
5 Out Of 10
I removed the pressure washer from the box and followed the instructions to put it together, was quite simple and started right up ran for apporox 10 seconds and died. The battery was discharged that quick. I let it set for a few minutes and starter still would not turn over so I used the pull starter and it started on first pull but while using the machine if I let off the handle it would die immediately also the plastic fron cover was broken, not a big deal as I cannot see any use for it... more
Charles Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
13
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials