Your Cart @ Pressure Washers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Generac 6565 Gas Pressure Washers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$899.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$899.00
(as of 07:07 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$899.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$899.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$899.00
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Generac 6565 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (5)
High Quality (4)
Reliable (3)
Exceeded Expectations (3)
Price (3)
Cons
No Output Pressure Gauge (1)
A Little Hard To Start I... (1)
Heavy (1)
Generac Poor Customer Se... (1)
No Cons Yet (1)
79% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
24 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Pressure Washer Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
122 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
5356 Helpful Votes
Pressure Washers Direct Recommended

Generac has a great reputation for their power equipment, and this newcomer should be no exception - we have received a lot of positive feedback on this model.

This pressure washer includes a Generac OHV commercial grade engine and an AR triplex pump.

With that being said, this 4200 PSI, 4 GPM unit from Generac is basically a professional-grade machine at a prosumer-grade price.

Brian Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
60-245
Keith C.
Haymarket, VA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/23/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Power Washer
The quality and durability are second to none. The price for what I got is great and the amount of pressure from this 4200 psi washer is outstanding.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: No Cons Yet
Keith Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Matt Z.
Marysville, PA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/28/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Maybe You'll Get Lucky
So I bought this even after reading some bad reviews of it mainly to do with stalling when hot and hard to pull. But my unit did that one better right out of the box it wouldn't start not even a cough. So I went all over it and eventually found that the spark plug had been smashed to the point where there was gap. I regapped the plug and pulled until I found out the thing will not start on choke only run. Do you know how many pulls that took to find that out?

So now I'm happy it's running... more
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Matt,
I am so sorry you've had issues with your pressure washer! Generac is such a large company that I'm afraid they don't keep their Service Directory as up-to-date as they could.

If you feel you aren't being treated fairly at the Authorized Repair location, please give me a call directly at 800-710-7499 or email me at service@pressurewashersdirect.com and I will be happy to ask our Generac sales rep to step in on your behalf. I will need the name & phone number of the shop, your invoice number, and the name of the person you're speaking to.

We appreciate your business, and apologize for any inconvenience!
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Vernon
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Flushing The Siphon Tube Causes Expensive Repair
This unit, like many others has a barb that you connect the chemical injection hose too. This barb screws out and under is a small spring and ball bearing approximately 1/4" diameter.

This often requires cleaning as it gets gummed up from the chemicals and will no longer suck the chemicals in. I took my barb out to clean the hole and ball but it sprang out and lost it. I called Generac for a replacement and they told me that I must purchase a new pump as the spring and ball are not... more
Cons: Generac Poor Customer Service
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Vernon,
The pump on this model is made by AR. You may want to give them a call at 866-235-5112 to see if they have the part that you need.

A couple simple steps described in the Owner's Manual will prevent this from happening in the future:

Always use pressure washer-safe detergent at the proper dilution ratio. This ensures a good mix with the water flow. A too-thick mixture will not mix well and will be harder to rinse out of the siphon tube and siphon barb.

Once you're done soaping, always stick the siphon tube in a bucket of fresh water and spray until the water runs clear to flush the soap out of the siphon tube and barb.

These 2 steps should eliminate the need to disassemble the soap barb at all.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Vernon,
We are sorry to learn of your unit's issues. Please note that we do not personally manufacture the pump that is featured on our commercial grade power washers. Considering this, we are unable to provide individual parts for replacements. If you are interested in obtaining specific parts for the pump, however, we would recommend contacting the pump's manufacturer. If there is any other insight that we can provide regarding your personal unit, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). We do apologize for any frustration that this unfortunate scenario may have caused.
more
Was this review helpful?
31
Kenneth S.
Mc Calla, AL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/26/16
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Beast!!
Very impressed!!

High quality and very powerful.

Happy customer here!!!
Kenneth Recommends This Generac Product
Kenneth's Experience With Pressure Washers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Always great place to shop !!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jolan M.
Myerstown, PA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/23/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Unit
Product came as described. Way more power than I anticipated, and therefore does the task well.
Jolan Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Wade L.
Ada, MI
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/19/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great!!!!!
This is a great pressure washer. I used it to strip the paint off my pool walls and floor. I've been doing pressure washing for years and this pressure washer does not disappoint.

Just remember this machine is going to be physically bigger than your average 3000 PSI machines.

I recommend getting a spinning stripping tip with this Machine.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable, Features
Cons: Heavy
Wade Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Wand Failed After Three Uses
I used this pressure washer three times in 2 months and on the third time the value in the wand stuck open. I was able to get it closed but it does not close all the way.

Generac is sending me a new one so I guess we'll see what happens.
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Kevin,
For best performance please make sure to keep grit and dirt out of your wand by using the built-in wand hooks instead of laying it on the ground.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Philip N.
Mount Jackson, VA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/29/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
You Should Read The Instructions
Very easy to start unlike some reviews, you should read the instructions.

Has lots of power, it will push you back. I have not found anything yet that it will not take off.
Philip Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Terry S.
Lincoln Park, MI
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/18/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome
So I purchased this pressure washer simply for the 4200 and the 4.0 gallons per minute but I'm so happy with everything about this machine!

I have used many other gas pressure washers with Cat pumps and big PSI that cost almost double the amount of this Generac and let me tell you I would buy this over them every time now that I have used this machine- this is just the best value out period!

I seen that some other people had problems starting their unit, let me tell you I have never had... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Price, Durable, Features, Easy To Use, Fast, Reliable
Terry Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim P.
Paola, KS
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/27/16
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality That's Obvious
I did quite a bit of research on pressure washers before deciding on this model by Generac. Like most people the immediate thing that made it stand out was the price. Compared to other PW's in the 4200 PSI range you were looking at saving a minimum of $200 to $300 clear up to $700. I kinda liked that.

I knew Generac had made generators since forever and had a solid rep in that field. The pump they used was the same as the other competitors with a couple of exceptions where they were using... more
Tim Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Hank
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 2/25/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Second Guesses
It is everything you said it was. A great cleaning machine.
Hank Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Chris K.
Alton, IL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 2/17/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent
Plenty of power, easy instruction for maintenance of care. Works well with a Surface Cleaner.
Chris Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Earl D.
Ellijay, GA
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Much Worth The Investment
I've been doing pressure washing for a local Chick-Fil-A restaurant for 2 years now. Chewing gum on the drive through pick up lane is a particular problem.

A 2100 PSI Briggs & Stratton (a big-box special procured by a previous manager) did a mediocre job at best. When it finally blew up (literally), the Franchise Owner agreed to go to a more powerful pressure washer. This has been an enormous improvement.

I wouldn't give this up for anything. It is powerful enough that I tuck the... more
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Earl Recommends This Generac Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Earl,
The trigger-gun lock is a safety feature; we have to remind readers that we do not recommend disabling it.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
William R.
Daleville, AL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 11/2/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
I have now used this pressure washer for hours, and it still amazes me how well it cleans, and simple to operate. The pressure adjustment is very effective, and the motor just purrs along for hours.

At full pressure, it still runs for several hours on a tank. I do use non-ethanol, as I use for all my gas tools.

Thanks, Generac for the great product, and double thanks to Pressure Washers Direct for the very prompt and courteous service.
William Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
Thank you for providing us with your thoughtful review; we are pleased to learn of your positive experience with our product! If you have not done so already, please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation to initiate your product's warranty. To complete the registration process online, please visit the following link: https://register.generac.com/?cid=frm-105-aa . If you have any questions about registering your product, please know that we can be reached 24/7 at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles R.
Horseheads, NY
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 9/5/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
18
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Second Time In Use Though It Blew Up
first time I used it it was great. The 2nd time I thought it blew up b/c of all the white smoke. I needed it badly but had to take it to be repaired. Was not happy.
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Charles,
I apologize for the issues you are having, however it sounds to me like there may have been too much oil added to the unit.

This would cause the white smoke you are referring to. Also, Generac does warranty the item for 2 years and should be able to help find out the problem. Any questions you can call me direct at 800-710-7499.
more
Was this review helpful?
173
Glen C.
Ashburn, GA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/16/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Product And Service!
First off....... This thing is a BEAST!!!! Definitely worth the money. I bought it primarily due to its 4 GPM rating and it hasn't disappointed. I was able to run a 20" surface cleaner with this machine and had GREAT results! I have used it for down streaming and can easily hit two stories with it. :)

I paid extra for lift-gate service and was glad I did. The unit was quite "hefty" to say the least. Everything was included as advertised and start up was achieved after 3... more
Glen Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Glen,
Thank you for providing us with your review of the 4200 PSI professional grade pressure washer. We are pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our product! Please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation to ensure that your unit's warranty coverage is properly initiated. To complete the registration process online, we would recommend submitting the information required via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa . If you have any questions about the registration process, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722); we have representatives available 24/7.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Vincent S.
Houston, TX
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/14/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Back-up Gear
I have 5 powerwashers due to my job. I only bought this Generac because of its sale price, and I could not be any happier. It does have 4000 psi and starts up first time.

I am leary about the duration of the pump, but so far it's working as designed. I have no regrets and would definitely buy another one. Generac is well known for their generators, so I decided to go to their line of power washers.
Vincent Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Vincent,
Thank you for providing us with your review of the Semi-Pro 4200 PSI professional grade power washer. We are happy to learn of your satisfaction with our product! If you would like to discuss your concerns regarding the unit's pump with us directly, please do not hesitate to contact us at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). Also, don't forget to register your unit with Generac Nation to initiate your product's warranty, and to receive future consumer alerts as well. To register your unit online, please provide the required information via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa.
more
Was this review helpful?
41
Jason A.
Hopkins, MI
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/11/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Washer For The Money.
Unboxed it, added oil, started it up. (Oil was included in the box.)

Had a bit of glue or some kind of plastic resin in the first pressure tip. Threw me off for a couple of minutes. Cleaned it out with a paper clip and good to go.

You need both feet on the ground with this unit. Standing on your bumper to hose off the roof of your truck is a bad idea....

It took paint off the front forks of a motorcycle. It also stripped most of the grease out of the cylinder rod ends of our bobcat.... more
Jason Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jason,
Thank you for providing us with your review of the 4200 psi professional grade pressure washer. We appreciate your feedback regarding our product. Also, as you have alluded, the water supply provided to the unit must be provided at a rate of 3.8 gpm and no less than 30 psi. Should you have any additional comments, questions, or concerns at any time, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). Lastly, if you have not done so already, please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation by providing the information required via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa. Doing so will allow you to receive future consumer alerts and warranty related information. If you have any questions about the registration process, we can be reached at the phone number provided above.
more
Was this review helpful?
31
Samuel G.
Mechanicsville, MD
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/30/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far An Excellent Choice
Just used it for the first time. Very difficult to start the first time. Followed the instructions and tried to start it 20-30 pulls later, nothing. Open the choke fully, instead of closed, fired up on the next pull. Started the first pull about 20 minutes later. 4200 psi has quite a kick to it. I purchased a pressure gauge so I could accurately adjust the output pressure. Cleaned my concrete patio at full pressure, turned the pressure down to 3100 psi to clean patio furniture and table. As... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again, Adjustable Output Pressure
Cons: A Little Hard To Start Initially, No Output Pressure Gauge
Samuel Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Jeff A.
Fort Wayne, IN
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/8/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Machine Can Handle It All
I wanted a machine that could reach the top of the second floor of my house from standing outside the basement door. The 4200 met the challenge. This thing is a beast. I'm glad it came with a support handle on the wand. Delivery was excellent, on time, no damage.

First time start took 5 pulls and runs like a dream. The interchangeable tips are great. I was able to clean the siding, driveway and my truck without issue. I believe in crying only once on a purchase of this type. Spend a little... more
Jeff Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jeff,
Thank you for your positive feedback! Your review is highly valued; we are pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our product. If there are any questions that we can answer for you at any time, please know that we can be reached 24/7 at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). Also, to ensure that your unit is appropriately registered for warranty, please be sure to provide the information required via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa . Doing so will also allow you to receive future consumer alerts from Generac Nation.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Monica F.
Lufkin, TX
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/8/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product
The machine is great haven't had any problems with machine itself. I do have a problem with the bearings on the wheels of the machine they keep coming out. The machine itself is great.
Monica Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Monica,
Thank you for providing us with your review of the 4200 PSI professional grade pressure washer. We are sorry to learn of the issues that you have been having with the wheel's bearings. To request replacement parts, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) with the serial number of your unit. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Lee L.
Hinesville, GA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/13/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
L&l Pressure Washers Inc
Guys, you have gotta try this machine, it's Awesome. For the Price, you will be amazed at the power. I almost feel guilty charging to do driveways now. I have to slow down, or customers will say "damn your making $75.00 an hour," lol.
Lee Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Lee,
It sounds like you are putting the unit to good use, Lee! Thanks for providing us with your positive feedback! If you haven't done so already, please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation by providing the information required via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa . Registering your unit will not only allow you to initiate your unit's warranty coverage; it will allow you to receive future consumer alerts as well. If you have any questions about the registration process, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). Again, we thank you for your candid review.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Geary G.
South Haven, MI
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/3/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Piece Of Machinery
Can't imagine needing any more power, started on the second pull. Could have used an angle wand......

Time will tell about reliability
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials