Search
< Back to Product

Generac 6590 Gas Pressure Washers Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$609.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$649.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
 
$599.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$599.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac 6590 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
3/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Pros
Features (7)
Easy To Use (6)
High Quality (5)
Durable (5)
Easy To Store (3)
Cons
Unreliable (11)
Low Quality (3)
None Yet (3)
Packaging (2)
Durability (1)
58% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
36 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Fredric S.
Astoria, OR
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/19/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dachshund Country
Been a really good washer so far. I do wish I could get an electric start for it, as I'm an old man.
Fredric Recommends This Generac Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Fredric,
You may want to give the folks at Generac a call, toll free at 888-436-3722 and see if they have an electric-start kit available for their engine.

Aftermarket starter kits are also available, but please be aware that attaching one to your pressure washer might void your Factory Warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Roger S.
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/19/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Lemon
Right out of the box, the fuel line from tank to carb was not connected and leaked out a tank of gas before it could be connected. Engine started on the first pull but no pressure from the pump.

20+ miles to the nearest Generac service dealer and was told it would be 2 - 3 weeks before they could troubleshoot the problem. Wish I had bought it at a Bog Box store with their 30 day return policy, could have gotten an immediate replacement or refund.
Pros: Features
Cons: Unreliable
Roger Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Roger,
I am so sorry your new pressure washer arrived with issues- I understand your frustration. We sell a lot of the larger Generac units and very few of them have problems. For the few that do, their national service network stands ready to help.

This is the busy season for pressure washer service, so you may want to call the shop every 4-to 5 days to check the status of your repair. If you're not happy with the Authorized Warranty Service you receive please don't hesitate to let us know- we will be happy to ask our Generac representative to step in and assist.

We appreciate your business and apologize for any disappointment.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Roger,
We are sorry to learn of the issues that you've experienced with your personal pressure washer. Please know that our products are backed by a limited comprehensive warranty, for which coverage can be provided by an independent authorized service provider in your local area. While we are disappointed to learn of the wait time for service with a particular party, please know that alternative servicing options may exist in your area. If you would like assistance locating another service provider, please know that we can be reached 24/7 at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Allison F.
Jupiter, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 1/4/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Sturdy Equipment
Hard to start at time if everything is not absolutely perfect. If you overfill the gas by a tiny bit - it gives you trouble when starting.

Uses more gas than my previous pressure washer but definitely has a lot of power.
Allison Recommends This Generac Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Allison,
Please make sure you're letting the water run through your pressure washer to purge any air in the pump before you pull the recoil rope as described on page 9 of your Owner's Manual.

Since the pump and the engine are connected directly, air in the pump can cause vapor lock- making it very hard to get the engine to turn over. If you let the water run for a minute or two in between recoil rope pulls you should have an easier time starting your pressure washer.

If you have overfilled the gas tank, loosening the gas cap a bit when starting may help as well.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Duane B.
Tampa, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/20/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
New Pressure Washer Wont Start !!
I got the Pressure Washer shipped to my office and all was good until I started to unpack it. It was missing a screw that helps hold on a plastic assembly for the hose. It looked like it was missing a cover on the pump assembly but later I found out it was not.

I put oil and gas in the unit, attached a water hose and tried to start it up. I followed the directions and pulled and pulled on the starter cord to no avail. It seemed like it was not getting any spark. I had a neighbor's friend... more
Duane Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Duane,
I am so sorry you're having problems with your pressure washer! Each time before trying to start the engine it's a good idea to squeeze the trigger gun and let water run through the unit for a minute or two. This chases out the air in the pump (vapor lock) and lets the directly-connected engine turn over.

Sometimes if the box has been tipped in shipping there can be residual oil coating the air filter; preventing the engine from starting. Cleaning the oil off or putting in a fresh filter may help. I'm glad your friend checked to make sure there wasn't any oil in the spark plug.

These tips won't help if the on/off switch isn't working properly, but we try to help where we can. I used the Generac Service Locator for pressure washers in your zip code, and there are several within 20 miles of your zip code. You may want to call around first to see which one has the shortest turn-around time.

You will need to bring a copy of your invoice with you for Warranty repair. Just click on "My Account" in the upper right corner of our website and follow the prompts to print one out.

We appreciate your business and apologize for any inconvenience!
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Duane,
We're sorry to learn of the issues you've experienced while attempting to start your personal product. Please know that we recommend contacting an independent authorized service provider in your local area, as these trained professionals can diagnose the cause of your problems and provide any remedy that falls under your product's warranty policy. If you have any questions about the unit's warranty, need help locating an independent authorized service provider in your area, or merely want to discuss your experience in further detail, please know that we can be reached 24/7 at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). We do apologize for any inconvenience your personal experience may have caused.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/14/14
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Stepped Up
Stepped up to this more industrial type pump unit and glad I did. You will spend $200 more over consumer units but this is not just about the pump . The entire unit is better quality from the hoses and connections to the tires to the gauge of metal in the frame its well worth the extra money.

I go to it not wondering if it will start or work that day, only how much I wanna clean!

Love it and Pressure Washers Direct!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None Yet, None Yet
Kevin Recommends This Generac Product
Kevin's Experience With Pressure Washers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Buy here, Period !"
 more
Was this review helpful?
192
Mike P.
New Castle, PA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/12/15
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not As Expected
First time PW purchase. I debated, researched, surfed at several websites, read, planned and shopped in big box stores for 6 months before I bought the Generac 6590. I read every review that I could on very many makes and models of PW's. And, watched many videos. I copied feature lists from supplier and manufacturer websites in addition to key comments and tips from customer reviews. I pasted such info into word pad documents and accumulated comparison notes into spreadsheets.

In April,... more
Pros: Features, Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Light Cleaning Only
Mike Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mike,
Thank you for providing us with your review of the 3100 PSI professional grade pressure washer. We are sorry to learn of the pressure-related issues that you have been experiencing with your unit. It sounds like you may be having issues with the water supply provided to the unit. Considering this, we would recommend verifying that the unit is being provided a supply that can handle at least 3.8 gallons per minute, no less than 30 psi, and does not exceed 100F. Please note that the pressure provided from the unit will also be limited if the unit's water inlet is blocked, the inlet hose screen is clogged, the high pressure hose is leaking, or the connected nozzle is obstructed in any way. If you are able to confirm that all of these potential causes do not apply to your personal unit, we would then recommend contacting an independent authorized service provider in your local area for any required diagnostic work, as our professional grade pressure washers should be able to provide enough power for the cleaning tasks to which you have alluded when the appropriate nozzle is utilized. To locate the independent authorized service provider closest to you, please use your postal code for searching purposes via the following link: http://www.generac.com/dealer-locator?cid=frm-105-ab .

Also, in regards to your current and intended use of the unit, please note that holding the nozzle 1" from your desired surface is not recommended; the spray gun should be held at a safe distance when using different pressure nozzles for various cleaning tasks. This is recommended to avoid damaging the surface to which water pressure is applied. Additionally, we would not recommend ever starting or operating a pressure washer indoors. Even if windows and/or doors are open, indoor operation can lead to overheating issues and a build up of carbon monoxide, which can be deadly. As for your desire to connect a 100' hose to a 35' hose, please note that your unit's owner's manual explicitly states that any connected hose should not exceed 50' in length, as longer hoses would limit the unit's pressure output. If you are interested in referring to your owner's manual, but do not currently possess an applicable copy, please know that you can obtain this documentation online by using the product's model or serial number for searching purposes via the following link: http://www.generac.com/service-support/product-support-lookup?cid=frm-105-ac .

Again, we do apologize for this unfortunate experience. If you would like to discuss your unit's issues with us in further detail, or if you would like to inquire about the process for having your unit serviced, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
207
Tracy G.
Westport, IN
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Need A Better Gas Cap
I have used my new 3100 pressure washer 3 or 4 times since new and it is very powerful and very well built.

The problem I am having is the gas cap is not venting properly and in order to run the unit more than about 20 minutes, you have to unscrew or completely remove the cap... not good.

A very good pressure washer reduced to junk because of improper fuel tank venting; would not buy again.
Pros: Durable, Features, High Quality
Cons: Unreliable
Tracy Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Tracy,
This pressure washer has a very generous 3 year Factory Warranty on it- you may want to give the folks at Generac a call, toll free, at (888) 436-3722 x5381 and let them know your situation so they can help remedy it.

Please be sure to have the serial number of your pressure washer handy when you call Generac- they will ask for it when you call them.
more
Was this review helpful?
164
Mike S.
Kettering, OH
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/18/14
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good Machine But
Purchased in April. Couldn't believe how fast it arrived. Easy to put together. Finally am using it this weekend. Powerful machine but continually stops running on me like it's out of gas. Check the gas and starts right up but will quit again over and over.

Gas cap issues?? I don't know. I guess I will call Generac on Monday 6/30/14
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use
Cons: Unreliable
Mike Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Mike,
I'm sorry to hear you're having issues getting the engine to run consistently. Calling Generac toll free at 888-436-3722 is a good place to start- please be sure to have the serial number of your pressure washer handy when you call them.

I checked Generac's Service Locator for pressure washer repair locations in your area, and there are 5 within 10 miles of your zip code. If you need Warranty Service, I would suggest calling around to find out who has the shortest turn-around time:

DR. MILLS
5490 WOLFPEN-PLEASANT HILL RD
MILFORD, OH 45150
Distance: 9 Miles
513-831-2206

EDINGTON ENTERPRISES
7210 EDINGTON DRIVE
CINCINNATI, OH 45249
Distance: 1 Miles
513-489-357


TOOL HOUSE INC
11815 HIGHWAY DRIVE
SHARONVILLE, OH 45241
Distance: 4 Miles
513-821-3000


JERICHO MOWER SERVICE
8151 REGAL LANE
WESTCHESTER, OH 45069
Distance: 5 Miles
513-755-6300

PRO TOOL SERVICE INC
1125 GLENDALE-MILFORD RD
CINCINNATI, OH 45215
Distance: 10 Miles
513-772-1490
more
Was this review helpful?
111
Mark F.
Watkinsville, GA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/4/14
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy Duty Unit
This model is very heavy duty from the frame, engine, and pump, to the hose and gun.

For its first use I ran it for around 3 hours to clean the upstairs back of my house and the underneath of my deck from the patio below. Things were very dirty from 2-3 years of no washing. We live in a wooded area with mud wasps, bee hives, birds nests, spider webs, and caked on dirt on the window casings. The pressure treated wood was all gray.

Window casings, bricks, concrete floor, and the pressure... more
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging, Ups Hammered The Box Completely Torn Open On One Side
Mark Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
122
Ruth F.
Sparta, NJ
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/14/15
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
15
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Very Disappointing
New out of the box and it won't start! Checked the spark plug - no spark, so I went and purchased a new plug and still no spark. Nearest authorized service center is an hours drive so I spent the afternoon I should have been power washing taking it to the authorized service facility. Who knows when I get it back. No way the manufacturer tested this or did any serious quality inspection. Serves me right for trying to buy American made.
Ruth Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Ruth,
I apologize for the issues you are having. The unit does have a full 2 year warranty and understand your frustration. If you are unsatisfied with Generac's solution to the problem, give us a call at 800-710-7499.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ruth,
We are sorry to learn of the issues that you are experiencing with your power washer. If you are unable to remedy your unit's issues by completing the tasks recommended in the Troubleshooting section of your unit's owner's manual, we would in fact recommend having the issues diagnosed by an independent authorized service provider. These independent parties are trained to not only determine the cause of any particular issues, but they can also provide any applicable warranty coverage as well. We would like to encourage you to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) if you have any questions about your unit's warranty coverage, or if you would like to speak with us directly regarding your personal experience. Furthermore, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused.
more
Was this review helpful?
156
Richard Leb.
Lake City, SC
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Engine Quits
Ditto review from Sam in New Baltimore MI. Great unit when running, but quit 3 times first day I used it. Called Generac and was told by cust service they never heard of this. Had them go into your reviews to validate issue. Mine is in shop now. They couldn't (?) transfer me to anyone in tech support or warranty admin, said only a dealer can do that, (?) Right now I wish I hadn't bought it. We'll see what happens.
Pros: Features
Cons: Unreliable, Engine Quits
Richard Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Richard,
I'm sorry to hear you're having a problem keeping the engine running- I hope you were able to solve the problem the way Sam did by unscrewing the cap enough to let the vapors out?

Generac Tech Support number is 888-436-3722, toll free and accessible to anyone. If you have a problem getting Factory Warranty Service, wherever you bought the unit can ask their sales rep at Generac to step in; they would be the ones to help sort things out with warranty admin.

I'm sorry Generac's customer service rep wasn't aware of the gas cap issue - they are a really large company handling a wide range of power tools, and the information may not have worked all the way through the food chain yet.
more
Was this review helpful?
135
Robert G.
Buckannon, WV
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/4/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
I have owned several consumer type pressure washers and have been disappointed multiple times. Though I have limited time so far using the Generac, it seems to far superior in every respect.

I was very surprised / impressed with how quickly it arrived. I was fully expecting to wait at least a week. As I recall, I ordered on Tues and it arrived by Friday

So far, I could not be more satisfied.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, High Quality, Fast
Cons: None Yet
Robert Recommends This Generac Product
Robert's Experience With Pressure Washers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent experience. Delivery time was almost unbelievable. Ordering was easy and info on web site was very helpful."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Fernando L.
Tampa, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/14/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Just Out Of The Box And It Will Not Start - First Impressions
I can't remember the last time I bought a machine, especially one that I expected to be of high quality - and it simply did not work.

I've been kicking myself all afternoon for buying American. But that really is not the issue. The fact is that THE PEOPLE WHO MAKE THIS MACHINE DO QUALITY CONTROL VERY BADLY.

I say this because based on the various reviews, some Generac machines work very well out of the box while others (like mine) work like junk.

And this should... more
Pros: Arrived On Time
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Difficult To Use
Fernando Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
114
Jason B.
Chambersburg, PA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/15/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Absolute Nightmare So Far
I really was tired of having to service my smaller Troy Built unit so I wanted to purchase something reliable that I could just do my job with and not have the added aggravation of equipment issues...the reviews and quality of Generac had me sold. I made my purchase May 13th and everything arrived on time. Upon assembly I notice that the instruction bag and the bag containing some accessories had been already opened. No big deal really. As I followed thru the directions I noticed I was... more
Jason Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Jason,
All of the units are equipped with a low oil sensor. As the sounds of it, there was not enough oil to start the machine. All of the units are tested from the factory and will have residual oil shipped in it. You still need to add oil for the machine to start.

Also, as far as the shutting down, did you fill the Gas up above the fill line on the tank? This can cause the unit to not vent properly, causing the engine to shut down. I do apologize for all the issues you are having. Generac does cover the engine for defects and lack in workmanship. I know it is frustrating, but the service center will get the unit up and running for you. Any questions give us a call at 800-710-7499. Thanks
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jason,
We are disappointed to learn of the issues that you have experienced with your unit upon purchase and during attempted operation. To acquire any accessories that you currently need, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) with your unit's serial number.

In regards to the oil-related issues that you have experienced, please note that the unit is filled with a bit of oil for testing purposes out of manufacturing. Considering this, there may still be oil in the unit upon purchase. Please note, however, that the unit will still need to be appropriately filled with a designated oil. If issues persist after you have filled the unit with oil and followed all of the steps necessary for initial startup, we would then recommend performing the troubleshooting steps detailed in your unit's owner's manual. If these steps are unable to provide an applicable remedy, we would then recommend working directly with an independent authorized service provider in your local area. These trained professionals are able to not only determine the cause of a unit's issues, but can also provide any applicable warranty coverage.

If you would like to speak with us regarding your personal experience, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). We apologize for any inconvenience that this experience may have caused, and fully understand your frustration. Moreover, we look forward to working with you, as well as your chosen service provider, to provide you with a unit that functions as intended out of manufacturing.
more
Was this review helpful?
83
Mark M.
Athens, ME
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/14/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Unreliabe?
Evey year I borrow or rent a pressure washer to use around my home (siding, vehicles,lawnmowers etc) and decided it was time to buy. I found Pessure Washers Direct in a search and ordered the Generac Prosumer 3100. It arrived within days of ordering it so that's good. My plans were to take several days of my vacation and use my new purchase to do all my pressure washing needs.

On my first day and the third start up, water came gushing out around the handle hose connection, an obvious... more
Cons: Unreliable
Mark Does Not Recommend This Product
Mark's Experience With Pressure Washers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Pressure Washers Direct was easy to order from and gave a lot of good information. The Product arrived quickly and in good condition."
 more
Was this review helpful?
95
Sam
New Baltimore, MI
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/16/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Generac May Have An Engine Problem
I first noticed in the reviews prior to my purchase that some customers were having trouble with the Generac brand engine stalling on them. I thought every product has its quirks and a couple of lemons out of the thousands they distribute isn't out of the ordinary. However, Mine too is stalling with plenty of fuel in the tank. After a stall, I would check the fuel (and oil), then restart and it would run fine for another 10-15 min. and do it all over again.

Then I thought about the reviews... more
Cons: Unreliable
Sam Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Sam,
I'm glad you found the information about the gas cap- and I apologize for the inconvenience. I'd suggest giving the folks at Generac a call, toll free, at 888-436-3722 to report the problem; that way you'll be on the list if they issue replacement gas caps.

Please be sure to have the serial number of your unit handy when you call Generac; they will ask for it to keep track of the issue.
more
Was this review helpful?
106
Ronald G.
Merritt Island, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 12/29/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Pressure Washer For Consumer
I have used this pressure washer for 16 hours so far and am completely satisfied with the performance, ease of use and reliability of operation.

The only improvement from my perspective would be increased pressure and water volume, but that would of course require a much more expensive machine.
Ronald Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
129
Curt
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Junk
Started seeing silver in the water the 2nd time I used it. Took it to get fixed. Used it once after that and the crank case fills with water when its running and fills with gas when not in use. Now its leaking gas from the bowl and wont start. Its had more wrench time than run time.
Curt Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Curt,
This pressure washer has a very generous 3 year Factory Warranty on it- you may want to give the folks at Generac a call, toll free, at (888) 436-3722 x5381 and let them know your situation so they can help remedy it.

Please be sure to have the serial number of your pressure washer handy when you call Generac- they will ask for it when you call them.
more
Was this review helpful?
52
Tom M.
Vandergrift, PA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/20/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Bang For The Buck
After 13 years my Craftsman pump broke, not worth fixing. Decided to step up to a better brand and more power.

So far this unit is great. Well built, runs great and no issues yet. Having adjustable pressure is very handy.Very happy with this unit. Used it twice, about 30 minutes each time.
Tom Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
52
Dick R.
Tequesta, FL
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Runs, Then Stops
Washer arrived last Tuesday- Fed Ex, no problem. Unpacked Last Wednesday, all went great with set up of washer. Ran for about one hour and stopped. OK, take a break. Started up ran for about 5 min, stopped again. Did this three more times. Hummm, must be a problem, right?

Called Generac, first call lady gave me wrong number-not in service, called second time, got correct number, called again box was filled . Had an address. Last Thursday went to place of business, it was open, talked with... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Store
Cons: Unreliable
Dick Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Blake M.
Tampa, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/23/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Performed Great
Have used the washer twice since buying it about a month ago and it performed great each time. Cleans with ease and uses a lot less gas than my old Honda powered unit.

Think this unit is priced kinda high, but caught it on sale so that helped.
Blake Recommends This Generac Product
Blake's Experience With Pressure Washers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Free shipping and no tax helps a lot!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Daniel C.
Pinellas Park, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/12/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth Every Penny And Then Some
I am very happy with my purchase. Just follow directions and smooth sailing. Started up on the first try.

The adjustable pressure is a great feature along with the triple axial pump. The only part I would change is the small gas tank. Other than that I would recommend this product to everyone.

It is worth every penny and then some.
Daniel Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Bill H.
Deland, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/19/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Jury's Still Out
I bought this 6590 washer and it was delivered very quickly and not beat up. Assembly was easy and quick.

Added oil to it and poured in non-ethanol gas. Choked and pulled and engine fired up on the first pull. Started washing and machine worked perfect. About 40 minutes into it the motor would shut down for no reason. One pull and it started up and would run for 5 to 10 minutes and stall again. This would continue until it ran out of gas.

I found out that if I filled the tank, it would... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, The Pressure Regulator Is A Must Have It Works Great
Cons: Motor Shuts Down With A Third Of A Tank Of Fuel In It
Bill Recommends This Generac Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Bill,
This may be a long shot, but the "runs for 40-50 minutes and then shuts down" sounds like something you might want to try is loosening the gas cap a little while the engine is running. If there's a bit of something blocking the vent in the gas cap a vacuum can form, starving the motor of gasoline.

The stalling after 5-10 minutes feels like this may not be a for-sure fix, and you may still need to have the Authorized Warranty Service folks take a look at it. You can use Generac's Service Center Locator or give them a call, toll free, at 888-436-3722 to find the closest facility.

If you call Generac, please be sure to have the serial number of your pressure washer handy- they may ask for it. You should also bring a copy of your invoice for any Warranty Service. You can easily print one out by clicking on the My Account link in the upper right corner of our website and following the prompts.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Rick Venter
Metamora, IN
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/17/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pressure Washer
Used it to clean front porch and dog kennels, and it worked great. I just think it needs a bigger gas tank.
Rick Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
31
James W.
Mason, OH
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/12/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Power Tool
Half way through the first summer and my Generac has performed very well.

Delivery of the Generac was amazingly fast. I think it arrived the day after I ordered it with no signs of mishandling and no damage. It was quick to put together .The first two usages were interrupted when the engine stopped and wouldn't start immediately. Checked all the oil levels again and all were at the correct level, so no overheating issues. The engine started after a short cool down, and I haven't had... more
James Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Pat Gurcsik
Sewell, NJ
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Very Disappointed
Researched pressure washers for 6 months & allowed Pressure Washers Direct to convince me to buy a Generac 6590 for home use instead of a Honda engine product. I bought the soap shooter nozzle, telescoping wand, pump shield, turbo nozzle & soap. (Order PWD1071192).

On two occasions this week I left work early to get the house washed. The unit runs great for 30 minutes until it stalls & the recoil locks up like the engine is seized. Eventually able to get it started only to... more
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality
Pat Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Pat,
I am going to send your review to our sales rep at Generac to see if they can step in and move things along for you and check on the labor charge- warranty work should be covered. I'll email you through your account with any updates.

It's a long shot, but before you take the unit back for service you may want to try loosening your gas cap a bit while the unit is running. If the gas cap vent is blocked it can create a vacuum and starve the engine.

We appreciate your business, and apologize for any inconvenience.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Pat,
We are sorry to learn of your experience. As PED has alluded, we would like to discuss these issues with you in further detail. At your earliest convenience, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) with the serial number of your personal unit. Once we are able to obtain this information, we can assign your case appropriately to ensure that your issues are addressed in an expedited fashion. We do apologize for any frustration that may have stemmed from this unfortunate scenario.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jason H.
Imlay City, MI
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/21/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Shipping was very prompt. It arrived in 1 day, even though it was not to arrive for 4. The handling was poor on UPS. The box showed up on its side, which is clearly marked with a red arrow up. also, the box was crushed in one corner.

Upon unpacking, found the upper handle damaged where the hanger for the hose goes. I contacted Power
Washers Direct via phone and sent them the requested pictures of damage. They are sending me a new handle.
Thank you!

The unit itself is stout. The frame... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Durable, Easy To Store
Cons: Packaging
Jason Recommends This Generac Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Jason,
The random shut-offs are odd, and I can see where they would be annoying. You may want to try loosening your gas cap a bit to see if that clears up the problem- if the vent is clogged (by either debris or scrap from the manufacturing process) it can interfere with the flow of gasoline.

If it continues, please contact the folks at Generac, toll free, at 888-436-3722 for the Authorized Warranty Service facility closest to you. Please also have the serial number of your pressure washer handy when you call them; they will need it to set up the claim.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jason,
Thank you for providing us with your review. If your unit shuts down during operation, this is usually indicative of a lack of fuel. Considering this, we would recommend ensuring that the unit is adequately filled with fuel before each use. If you are able to take these steps and issues persist, we would then recommend contacting an independent authorized service provider in your local area for any diagnostic or servicing work that may be required. To locate an independent authorized service provider closest to you, please use your postal code for searching purposes here: http://www.generac.com/dealer-locator?cid=frm-105-ab . Moreover, if you would like to discuss your experience with us in further detail, please know that we can be reached 24/7 at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Denise N.
Redford, MI
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/20/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
11
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Happy - Extremely Disappointed - No Customer Service
We purchased this product for our other building because of Generac's reputation, which turned out to be a huge disappointment. It worked fine for 2 days and then started to shut down after running for about 15 minutes.

The local service center ddin't return calls and my technician has been trying for approx. 2 wks and still no answer. My technician called Generac & they gave him the number of a different service center but that is a good 30 miles away. I feel that we shouldn't have... more
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality, Durability, Customer Support
Denise Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Denise,
I apologize for the issues you are having with the local service center. Since the unit was just purchased from us, we are willing to pay you 50 dollars in travel to get it down to the service center that is farther away. Give me a call directly so we can get this set up. I can be reached at 800-710-7499. Thanks
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Denise,
We apologize for the issues that you are currently experiencing with your 3100 PSI commercial grade pressure washer. Please know that we stand behind our products through the warranty coverage offered for each product that we produce. Please note, however, that while we are the product's manufacturer, we do not personally provide diagnostic or servicing work across the nation; these services are performed by independent authorized service providers in each customer's respective area. These trained professionals have gone through our training programs to become authorized to determine a unit's issues and provide any warranty coverage that may apply to each purchased product. We completely understand your frustration and would like to encourage you to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) if you would like to explore alternative servicing options in your local area, or if you would like to learn more about your unit's warranty status.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Earl C.
Branchville, SC
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/16/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Must Have Product
This machine is absolutely outstanding, best value for the price without a doubt. I purchased this pressure washer approximately 2 weeks ago, and I love it. I used it to wash my two-story vinyl siding house, it was the bomb, get one now!

l
Earl Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Earl,
Thank you for your positive feedback! To ensure that your unit is properly registered for warranty coverage, please be sure to provide the information required via the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa . If you have any questions about the registration process, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Donald S.
Lake Charles, LA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/8/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Poor Service
Got my PW very fast . Minor assembly was easy . It wouldn't start, wore me out trying. Calling for service or help after 5:00 was a waste of time . Wound up paying to get it started ($65) . Spent way to much time on the phone . Every time I talked to someone different I got a different answer .
Cons: Unreliable, No Service
Donald Recommends This Generac Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Donald,
I apologize with the issues you had. However, when we spoke we troubleshot the unit being tipped in shipping. Since we are not on location with the unit, it is always easier for a certified service center to get the unit up and running. We do not feel you should be out 65 dollars to get the unit running. Please email me the invoice and we will get you reimbursed for that cost. Any questions give me a call directly at 800-710-7499. Thanks
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Donald,
We are sorry to learn of the issues you initially experienced when attempting to start your unit. While we are happy to provide troubleshooting assistance, we are unable to definitively determine the cause of your unit's issues over the phone. Considering this, we always recommend contacting an independent authorized service provider if you are unable to provide an applicable remedy to your unit by following our recommendations or the troubleshooting steps provided in the unit's owner's manual. If you have any additional comments, questions, or concerns regarding your product or personal experience, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). We do apologize for any inconvenience that this unfortunate occurrence may have caused.
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Dane H.
Olathe, KS
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/1/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
Opened up the box found the quick start guide followed the instructions and ran two tanks of gas thru the machine. No problems everything worked as described. So far this pressure washer has lived up to my expectations.
Dane Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dane,
Thank you for providing us with your positive feedback. We are happy to learn of your satisfaction with our product! If you haven't done so already, please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation, as doing so will allow you to initiate your unit's warranty and receive future consumer alerts as well. For your convenience, registration can be completed online: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa . Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) if you have any questions about the registration process.
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Jean R.
Tucson, AZ
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/8/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Defective Out Of The Box
Great looking washer with nice specs, BUT, defective out of the box. 3 weeks after purchase still waiting for repair shop to diagnose and repair.

Very disappointed....should have been replaced by Generac, instead of having us driving 30 miles to a repair facility that is 3 weeks behind schedule.
Jean Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Jean,
Factory Warranty coverage for most pressure washers require an authorized repair tech to look at a unit to help them decide whether it needs to be repaired or replaced. We recommend checking our Service Center Locator to find Authorized Service locations in your zip code area. If there is more than one, it can be useful to call around and find out who has the shortest turn-around time.

Since your pressure washer is already in the shop you may want to give the folks at Generac a call, toll free, at 888-436-3722 and ask if they can move things along at the repair location. Please have the name & phone number of the shop handy as well as the name of the person you've been speaking to.

We appreciate your business, and apologize for any inconvenience.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jean,
We are sorry to learn of the issues that you experienced with your personal power washer. Please know that your product's warranty is in place for any diagnostic or servicing work that may be required during ownership. If you are already working with an independent authorized service provider for any repairs that may be required, please feel free to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) to discuss your experience and/or inquire about your product's warranty coverage. We apologize for any inconvenience that this experience may have caused, but look forward to working with you and your chosen service provider to ensure that the proper remedy is appropriately applied to your unit.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Rick K.
Clermont, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 9/30/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Deal For The Price
Why pay about the same at the box stores when you can own a high quality pressure washer that is serviceable and comes with a 3 year warranty with service location everywhere.

Extremely fast shipping and great customer services. Highly recommend the product, vendor and provider.
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Rick Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Rob L.
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 9/18/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Pressure Washer
Just bought this pressure washer from Pressure Washers Direct and it works great and got here faster than I expected.

Only problem I had was a nut missing, so I got one for 40 cents. Washed the driveway and it worked great.
Rob Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark P.
Rochester, IL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/17/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
High Quality For The Price
This was the least expensive washer I could find with the professional style ceramic pump. Out of box used it for 4 hours. Love it!
Mark Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard G.
Canton, TX
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/3/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Generac Semipro 3100 Psi Pressure Washer
Received 3100 super fast shipping. Washed family cars one weekend. Then again next weekend. On 5th time to use washer it would not start and was leaking gas badly at the carburetor. Took it to nearest warranty station. Was told warranty would not apply unless I bought it from a true Generac dealer.

And besides I probably had trash causing carburetor to stick open (also not covered by warranty). I advised to fix it and I'd pay whatever. Got call from repair station advising that needle... more
Richard Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Richard,
We are sorry to learn of the issue that you have experienced with your unit's carburetor. We are pleased, however, to learn that you have taken the unit into an independent authorized service provider who will be able to assist you with your unit's servicing needs. If you have any additional questions about your warranty policy or the services provided to your unit, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). We do apologize for any inconvenience that this experience may have caused.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials