Search
< Back to Product

Karcher 2.640-746 Spray Wands and Lances Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
$44.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$44.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$48.19
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$44.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Karcher 2.640-746 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (9)
Durable (5)
Easy To Store (4)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
Price (2)
Cons
Really Didn't Add As Muc... (1)
Durability (1)
Low Quality (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
Heavy (1)
82% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
21 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Lindal A.
Little Rock, AR
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/19/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is The Only One I Have Owned
Works great for what I wanted.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions
Lindal Recommends This Karcher Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David H.
Morgantown, IN
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/30/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Built Strong
I purchased it and it works the way I wanted it to.
David Recommends This Karcher Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 11/28/12
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
19
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Karcher 4 Piece Wand Extension Set (bayonet) Review
KS 5.740 model should be the best model they make and the best motor at 2000 psi. I purchased a extended high pressure hose 25' long so I would not have to keep moving the machine, as I read that by moving the machine could possibly break the hose extension.

The problem is that being longer weakens the pressure, and putting on the wand has same effect. So I had to use the Dirt Buster nozzle. The adjustable wand was as weak as a weak dribble to a stream comparable to a garden hose. So making... more
Was this review helpful?
60
Richard R.
Lambertville, MI
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2010
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Could Not Get Soap To Dispense
I bought this model the first week of June and received it in just two days.

I tried to use it about about two weeks ago, but could not get soap to dispense from gun. I went back and checked all the connections and everything was okay.

I didn't expect to have this kind of trouble right out of the box with a Karcher. The last one I owned I had for over ten years without trouble.

To keep a long story short, I had to go to Karcher for any warranty problems and I really had trouble... more
Was this review helpful?
50
David
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/14/12
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
1st Time Pressure Washer User
I purchased this model because it had the highest PSI and a water cooled pump that I hoped would be more durable. To date, I have only used the unit once. I found the unit easy to put together with straight forward instructions.

Even with 2000 PSI, I would not recommend this power washer for large jobs or to remove tough stains. I used it to clean the vinyl siding of my house, but I felt I could have put the wand an inch away from the siding without any serious damage to it. The unit... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Philip H.
Marco Island, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/5/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Yet
This is my second Karcher electric PW and it lasted probably 18 years. All it needed was a new bayonet nozzle so I gave the old one to my neighbor, and they love it.

I also purchased the 4 piece wand extension set to clean my pool cage. It works very well but I really need another extension piece to reach effectively above the pool. Is it possible to purchase another extension piece?

I am more than pleased with my new unit and as great as the old Karcher was, this one really... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Russell W.
Hyde Park, NY
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/14/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Use
I bought this extension to wash moss off my house. The added 6 feet made it easier than using and moving a ladder around.

It is a little awkward to move around being 6 feet long (plus the length of the basic gun) but that didn't matter when you see the results.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Easy To Store, High Quality
Russell Recommends This Karcher Product
Was this review helpful?
20
David U.
Naples, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 1/16/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dave
I live in south west Florida. We have a "cage" over our lanai that has a white frame that gets gray with mildew. The extension set I bought lets me get to the top of the frame without a ladder.

I was impressed with the quality of the extension pieces and the ease of putting them together. I would recommend it to anyone.
David Recommends This Karcher Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert Mcr.
Lake Oswego, OR
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/15/14
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Beware Of The Plastic Threads
I bought this to help wash my house siding above the height that I can reach. It worked well for this.

However, I needed to break it down to store it each night and I inadvertently cross threaded the metal tube threads onto the plastic receiving threads rendering one extension tube unusable. It was awfully easy to do, so I would recommend that if you buy this not breaking it down once assembled, or at least do it very carefully.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Low Quality, Durability
Robert Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard C.
Vandalia, MI
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/22/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Saves Climbing A Ladder
Works great.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Richard Recommends This Karcher Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael D.
Bluffton, SC
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 1/5/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Addition
This wand extension I bought for doing porch ceilings to get rid of bugs and spider webs. It also helps for about everything. Use in sections or at full length. It allows the electric washer much more utility.

I have a $3000 gas washer I rarely use now. This is a very good add-on product.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, I'd Buy It Again, Increases Uses
Michael Recommends This Karcher Product
Was this review helpful?
11
David B.
Northfield, VT
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/20/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Great for reaching the second story of the log cabin we're refurbishing.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store
David Recommends This Karcher Product
Was this review helpful?
11
John
The Villages, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 2/21/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Helpful Accessory
I recently purchased a Karcher X Series 2000PSI Pressure Washer and my first attempt at cleaning the top of my birdcage over the pool was a problem. The 4 piece wand extension made the 2nd cleaning much easier.
Was this review helpful?
00
Galen
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 11/8/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
29
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Investment
I purchased the K5.740, 2000 psi on 11-13-12 and have used it for between 8 & 10 hours washing the house, driveway etc.

It has exceeded my expectations and is much easier to use than any other pressure washer I have owned. The addition of the four piece extension set has reduced the time climbing up and down the ladder.

I am looking forward to the addition of the flexible wand, which I just received today.

It's great equipment and a great company to do business with.
Was this review helpful?
00
Roger
Rockport, MA
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Housedeck Washer Needs
This is my second Karcher pressure washer. This new model is an improvement over my much older model. First weekend I had this I pressure washed my entire house and a very large deck.

Pros: This is a work horse that delivers the intended results. I not only recommended this to my friend, he went out and bought the exact same model. Cons: You have to watch carefully not to pull it over. The side arms that hold power cord and nozzle for storage are cheap plastic and fall off easily. To... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Barbara
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/20/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No More Back Pain
My husband and I have enjoyed our Karcher pressure washer. At times it has been hard for reaching high locations roofline, pool cage, etc so this extension pole added a lot of flexibility. We recently used it to wash our solar blanket. Due to a bad back, I actually was able to sit in a chair and just point the long wand in the direction I needed and do a good job without putting a lot of stress on my back. Talk about total relief. The best part is that with the extension wands in place I... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard Rybarczyk
Lambertville, MI
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2010
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Would Not Buy Again
Bought this model in early June and it would not dispense the soap. After a number of calls to PWD and Karcher I finally returned it to Karcher for a replacement. I had to go all the way up to the Manager of the service reps because you will get a refurbished model and I wanted a new one to replace the one I had for only two weeks.

I had to write special instructions on the return sheet. I received the new one this week and everything is working fine for now. I did receive a new pressure... more
Was this review helpful?
00
John Abrahamsson
Coral Springs, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/15/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Bayonet Has No Pressure
I purchased the bayonet extension wand for my 1600 psi to reach 2nd floor to pressure clean outside of gutters, NO pressure ! its like a garden hose but much weaker, a single skinny stream only, weak. why would you sell the bayonet with the wrong pressure tip? or tell me so I can buy the correct tip, if even available???

I will say the it works great without the bayonet, but I would not use it on driveways, you will be there all day! Great for stepping stones, walk ways, gutters, patio,... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Quiet, Easy To Store
John Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
John,
"Bayonet" is the name of the connector that electric pressure washers use. It is a 'twist and click' connection, and each manufacturer tends to use a unique profile (where the 'ears' are located) so accessories work only with that brand.

As we say in the Features for this accessory, this extension wand will only work with Karcher electric pressure washers; it will not work with any other brand. I checked our files but didn't see a listing for your pressure washer purchase, so I want to make sure you are only trying to use this with a Karcher unit.

The main section has the bayonet (twist and click) connector that takes the place of your spray wand. You will need to make sure you hear (or feel) the "click" to make sure it is securely seated.

Then you can choose how many sections you want to add in the middle, but you must use the piece with the spray wand receiver at the end. That will let you twist and click your spray wand (or other Karcher accessory) into the end of the extension wand, letting you reach and clean farther.

If all the pieces are correctly connected to your Karcher spray gun you will see the full power of your pressure washer coming out of the spray wand on the end of the extension wand. If this isn't happening, please call the folks at Karcher, toll free, at (800) 537-4129 for further troubleshooting.

The extension wand is light weight so it's easy to use- but that also means you must be careful not to lean on the wand to try and clean harder. Just let the water pressure do it's job and the wand will last a long time.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Steve R.
Palm Coast, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/28/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Good Purchase.
A good purchase. It's lightweight but seems to have a lot of power. Especially useful with the optional extension wand.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Reliable
Steve Recommends This Karcher Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Joe
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
More Than Satisfied
I bought this to replace a Karcher 2400psi gas power washer. I bought the Karcher electric 2000psi model and it does an excellent job.

I have used it for 8 to 10 hours so far to clean the vinyl siding and aluminum gutters on the outside of my house. It cleans at least as well as my gas power washer and is far more convenient to use. So far I am more than satisfied with it.

I also bought the 4 piece extension kit. This allows me to reach higher without a ladder- at my age I am no longer... more
Was this review helpful?
01
Ben K.
Bella Vista, AR
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/7/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Only Does What It's Capable Of
For some reason I was hoping this would reach out 10' ... duh!
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Really Didn't Add As Much Reach As I Was Hoping For
Ben Recommends This Karcher Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Ben,
The Features for this extension set say that using all 4 pieces will reach a total of 67 inches; that's 5.58 feet and a little bit left over from the metric conversion.
more
Ben Would Recommend Pressure Washers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Love the ratings ... helps you make a decision."
 more
Was this review helpful?
02
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials