Search
< Back to Product

Karcher K3.48M Electric Pressure Washers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Exclusive to these retailers
 
$302.39
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Karcher K3.48M Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Pros
Price (3)
Reliable (2)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
Features (1)
Durable (1)
Cons
Unreliable (3)
Low Quality (3)
Does Not Work (1)
Durability (1)
Heavy (1)
33% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
34 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Harold M.
Fresno, CA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/16/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
This is my 3rd Karcher pressure washer and, like the other 3, for an 1800 PSI electric with the Dirtbuster wand, it does a super job at cleaning dirt. moss, and other misc items off cement and wood.

My only complaint on this model is the "quick connect" hose connector, since it is plastic it does not tighten well and leaks water but has no real effect on the water pressure or cleaning results.
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Harold,
You may want to try fresh gaskets in your garden hose and a couple winds of teflon pipe tape (about $1 in any hardware or grocery store) around the threads. This will usually cut down on dripping.
more
Was this review helpful?
80
John
REVIEWED
MAR.
19
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not A Great Machine
I bought the Karcher pressure washer mainly for cars. It has decent pressure for an electric washer. The detergent tank is small and mixes at a predetermined amount.

Overall construction is cheap, with nowhere to store the electric cord and hose. All in all it doesn't have the GPM to make car washing quick, and it's not powerful enough to do any thing else. I would spend an extra $100 and get a better unit- this one doesn't have many uses.
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
John,
The 1800 PSI should be plenty to wash cars, lawn furniture, boats, etc.

Please check to make sure your garden hose is 1/2" or 5/8" diameter, and not longer than 50 feet; and is connected to city water or a well that can supply at least 2 GPM.

If you're using an extension cord (not recommended), please make sure it is a heavy gauge (10 or 12 gauge), not a lightweight household appliance cord.

Either (or both) of these things will rob your pressure washer of power. If these solutions don't help, please feel free to contact Karcher Tech Support, toll free, at (800) 537-4129 to see if it requires warranty service. Be sure to have the serial number handy when you call.
more
Was this review helpful?
70
Jim W.
Sayville, NY
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Gone Through 4 Machines And All Had Gfi Issues.
All 4 machines died after a few used due to a bad GFI built into the electric cord. Karcher could provide no help. I took it back to Home Depot, got my money back and won't buy this brand again.
Jim Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Bill W.
Aztec, NM
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/6/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New 1800 Washer
Real nice piece of equipment. It does everything advertised.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Bill Recommends This Karcher Product
Bill Would Recommend Pressure Washers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Have no complaints- very good equipment. Perfect for my applications."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Art
Winfield, IA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/16/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Works Great
I recently purchased a Karcher pressure washer and found instantly it to be defective. I called to relate my problem & was told that all I had to do was get them the serial number & model number & send that to them and they in turn would replace the washer. It was amazing

I had a new pressure washer within 3 days time- no questions asked & no extra charges. I will recommend you to everyone & by the way I love the new washer- it works great!!!
Was this review helpful?
30
Dan P.
Manalapan, NJ
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/31/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
But The Motor Works
Purchased this product in 2012 used for 2 seasons. Every piece of plastic which the water was connected to split this was not from frost seams just split on plastic pipes. Stay away from this product.
Pros: Price
Cons: Unreliable, Low Quality
Dan Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Adi
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Pump Leaking
One year after purchase, the unit is leaking. Very poor construction.
Pros: Price
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Adi Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Adi,
This unit has a 1 year Factory Warranty from the day it was delivered. Our database has no listing for you, so we're sorry; we don't know if your warranty has expired.

You may want to call the folks at Karcher directly at (800) 537-4129 if you're still within the warranty period. Please be sure to have the serial number of your unit handy when you call.

One of the things that will cause a pump to leak is not turning the unit off when you walk away. The pump uses the running water to take away the heat; if the water doesn't run, the pump overheats and leaks.

The other common reason for a pump to start leaking is storing the unit where it will freeze, and not using a pump saver product. Since you live in Florida freezing is probably not a problem for you, although if you have very hard water a pump saver product will lubricate the seals and keep them from getting crusty and leaking.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Justin H.
Dry Creek, LA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 12/6/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Fast Delivery
Great product, fast delivery, and had a couple of them they are great.
Pros: Durable, Features, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Justin Recommends This Karcher Product
Justin Would Recommend Pressure Washers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast delivery. Great product"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brad B.
St Cloud, MN
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Absolutely Without Redeeming Qualities
I received it for Christmas - in Minnesota - in April. When I hooked it up to clean my boat the pressure hose blew off.

I called Karcher customer service who agreed to send me the hose; it was on back order. When I finally received it, it was the wrong hose. When I finally received the correct hose and attached it I checked all the connections and it blew off. Junk, junk, junk.
Pros: Price
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, Does Not Work
Brad Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Brad,
If the second hose didn't attach properly either it would seem that the connector on the unit might be the issue.

You may want to call the folks at Karcher, toll free, at (800) 537-4129 to access their Factory Warranty. Please be sure to have the serial number of your unit handy when you call them.

We don't show that you purchased the unit from us by the name or email you provided, so we're sorry, we can't send over a copy of your invoice. The folks at Karcher will need one for the warranty claim.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Alfred E.
Destin, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 2/26/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Everything Works Great, Except The Brush
So far everything works great, I especially like the rotating wand.

The rotating power brush was a big disappointment. It doesn't rotate fast enough to do much good.
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/11/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Leaky Fitting
The washer worked as advertised with one issue. The quick connector on the water hose is made of plastic and leaked a large amount of water while in use. I went out and purchased a brass fitting for $6 and replaced it.
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Steve,
You might also find that Teflon pipe thread tape- about a dollar at any hardware store- will do a good job stopping leaks, too.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Boyd M.
Bridgeville, DE
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/15/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Grandy
My son in law had one and I borrowed it, I was hooked! I bought one just like it. It is the best power washer I've seen. The only thing I don't like is the hose connection should be metal, not plastic.
Was this review helpful?
00
Dave R.
Melbourne, FL
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
Received the K3.48M in a timely manner. The container was really damaged and I almost didnt accept it.

When I unpacked it I saw no overt damage to the unit itself so I put it together and immediately started to use it.

It worked as advertised and I am very pleased with both the unit and Pressurewashers Direct.
Was this review helpful?
00
Brente
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/29/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Washer, Could Have A Little Improvement
I love the pressure washer. PED is also great as my orders were shipped out in a very timely manner.

However, this model does not have any place to hang the hose or electrical cable. My last Kasrcher did. Also, it seems you have to use all of the soap in the dispenser as I cant fiind a way to switch from applying soap to rinsing. Not a big deal, but it would have been a good feature.

All in all, the pressure washer is great for the price and I would buy from Karcher again and PED... more
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Brente,
Soap is only applied when the wand tip has been rotated to the low pressure position, shown on Page 8 of the Owner's Manual. Usually there is a click as you rotate out of the soap detent, into the minimum spray position, heading towards maximum spray.

Once you rotate the spray nozzle into the higher pressure settings, soap will flush out of the water flow and you should have clear water to rinse with.

Karcher suggests coiling the hose & cable around the handle; if the spray wands are in the holder on the back it will do a good job of keeping the coils in place.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
S. James B.
Toms River, NJ
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Works great, does a good job.

Can I possibly have another instruction booklet? I misplaced the one that came with the machine and need it to refer to. I think I left it at a neighbors house when I was lending her a hand to clean her patio, but she cant find it either. can you help me?

PWD RESPONDS: Of course! We have the Owner's Manual on the product page, under the Specs tab. Just look to the right side and click on the words Owner's Manual.

You can also download it directly from... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Walter J.
Vancouver, WA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/28/11
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Great, Small Reservoir
This is my second Karcher pressure washer, the first was a K3.55 that died of a pressure switch failure after 5 seasons.

I used my new K3.48 yesterday on my vinyl fence. Works great, but I think the cleaner reservoir is too small, needs constant refilling. So I am going back to using the gallon container that I used before my reservoir.
Was this review helpful?
00
T N
Placentia, CA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 2/7/11
REVIEWED
MAR.
20
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good For Home Use
Received order timely. Machine works for use around the home, i.e. vehicles, patio & patio furniture, brick, etc.

Machine has good pressure, but would like to see brackets & holders for pressure hose and power cord. Installed garden hose quick connect as recommended so as not to damaged plastic garden hose connection.

Overall pleased with the machine and the quick shipping by Pressure Washers Direct.
Was this review helpful?
00
Saul Delapaz
Lomita, CA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/7/10
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Must Buy
Just got to use my pressure washer, the assembly was easy and using it was even easier.

I cleaned a wood deck, a block wall and my driveway, had no problems, it worked great as I expected.

The only negative, and not too bad, is that the hose is kind of stiff making it hard to handle at times.

So far I am happy with my purchase and would recommend it as a must buy!!!
Was this review helpful?
00
Bob Brassard
Manchester, NH
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Machine
Rec'd my unit 09/23/10. Assembled in about 5 mins.

Washed deck, gazebo and concrete walkway. Excellent job for a small machine. Total run time to date is about 12 hours. Average run time per session is about 4 hours continuous.

One item of concern is the water inlet fitting which is female, plastic. It should be brass are you listening Karcher? Use caution when connecting the hose, crossed threads at this point would make the machine useless.

Overall this is an excellent machine and... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Phil Mullen
Angels Camp, CA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 9/23/10
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2010
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Try It You Will Like It!
I received my Karcher unit in a relatively short time since I live in a remote area. To my surprise all the parts were in good condition.

After mounting the handle and detergent container I connected the unit up and it worked as expected.

As the manual says the blaster wand should be used with care. This is not something you would use on the car or the house siding unless you plan to replace them, it is very powerful for an electric pressure washer. If it was smaller it would be... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jon Osborn
Muskegon, MI
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 9/9/10
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2010
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Universal Gun For Karcher Electric
I found soon after I had purchased my Karcher electric power washer that the gun that is included in the package is a real disappointment. You cannot take it apart without tearing it up.

I was forced to buy this wonderful replacement gun with all the nozzle adapters..... I am very happy with the Universal replacement.
Was this review helpful?
00
Judy Yamamoto
San Francisco, CA
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied
I bought this washer to clean the mildew off my fence. San Francisco weather creates a lot of moisture from fog that accelerates the growth of mildew.

What used to take me hours by hand with a scrub brush and hose was done in one third the time using this unit. Not to mention the spatter and soaking I got from this type of manual labor.

After considering all the pros and cons over the Internet with electric vs. gas, size of the unit for garage storage, and psi, this unit was the right... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul Sayers
Parrish, FL
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
K330/996 Vintage
You don't show the older models like mine in your model selection list. I have used mine several times every year for the 14 years I have owned it.

My use was never restricted to 30 minutes continuous use as my big jobs, driveway, are time consuming and stopping for ten minutes was not even considered and not mentioned in my manual. I still have my manual.

I want to get a higher pressure unit to make driveway and pool deck and cage cleaning easier. I am concerned with the negative... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Matt Brown
Jamaica, NY
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/22/10
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2010
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Washed My Deck Great!
Works great, easy to handle. Perfect amount of power for decks, siding and patios.

Cleaned my deck and one side of my house at the same time. Only wish there was a better way of storing the cord and hose. Otherwise, a great powerwasher.
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin Fong
Las Vegas, NV
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Connecting Garden Hose
I've seen many people complain about how hard it is to connect a garden hose to this class of Karcher units and I agree. Using a quick connect hose is a good idea on the low pressure side.

I've had my Karcher unit since 2000 and it finally failed on me, but I had some pretty rough usage so overall I'm satisfied.

I'm surprised at some of the people who've had units for even longer. These units see tough jobs.

My first failure, was in fact, the interior plastic fitting that broke... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Roy B.
Cape Coral, FL
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2010
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Quick Connectors Might Be A Good Idea
Ive had my Karcher 1650 model for a few years but rarely used it. I did not think of using a quick disconnect on the hose and the receptacle on the washer. The manual never mentioned it.

It got harder and harder to connect the hose to the unit until the piece on the unit gave out. I now have a working washer that I cannot use due to this probable $2.00 piece being broken. Nowhere does it say the unit can be disassembled and a piece gotten from Karcher.

I will be checking into other... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Chuck H.
Monticello, KY
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/27/10
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2010
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Difficult Hose Hookups
So far the pressure washer is OK.

My biggest complaint is the nozzle for hooking up the hose to the machine. The screw on coupling is extremely cheap and shoddy. It is very difficult to screw the male end of the garden hose to the female receiver located on the machine.

Even more difficult is unscrewing the garden hose off of the coupling. Extremely cheap, and I predict it will either break or spring a significant leak before the life of the motor is worn out.

The soap... more
Was this review helpful?
00
William S.
Hot Springs, AR
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/10/10
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2010
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Lack Of Pressure
I bought this because I had good experience with one I bought in 1995. This one had very poor pressure when compared to the old one.

I don't remember what the older one had for pressure, but it was much better than this one- both were electric. I assume that Government regulation has caused them to limit the pressure on these things.

I was unable to clean my vinyl siding any higher than I could reach keeping the pressure wand within 4 to 6 inches from the area being cleaned.

I... more
Was this review helpful?
00
David Leventhal
Mt Kisco, NY
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2009
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Poor Quality Pressure Washer
I bought this product in July 2008 and used it 2 or 3 times with decent results. Then upon trying to use it a 4th time the pump would not come on.

Karcher replaced the unit quickly and the re-manufactured unit worked for approximately 10 minutes; then the fuse blew.

Karcher has sent a 3rd unit, which I have not yet received.

Just by reading the reviews attached it appears that the unit should not be run for more than 20 - 30 minutes... This is unbelievable, what a piece of garbage.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jon Hoch Founder, Pressure Washers Direct.com
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2009
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Impressive New Model From Karcher
The K3.48 features a high-quality induction motor and a durable axial cam pump. Both are better options than the traditional universal motor and wobble pump.

This Karcher 1800 PSI pressure washer includes a detergent tank, which quickly allows you to spray soapy water. Plus, tt also includes a Dirtblaster turbo nozzle, which helps speed up cleaning time.

Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful?
00
Ralph Tucker
Knoxville, TN
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/1/09
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Good!
I purchased this unit- it cleaned my garage and it works great. It has good pressure, and it's easy to use.

I am very happy with this washer.
Was this review helpful?
00
Walter Kanz
Millville, MA
REVIEWED
MAY.
08
2009
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Thank You For The Information!
Thank you for writing about using this washer for no more than 30 minutes. You probably saved me a burn out.

Thanks again, and it's too bad the manufacturer couldn't also warn you.
Was this review helpful?
00
John Mck.
Estero, FL
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2008
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
What They Don't Tell You
I bought a new Karcher K3.99M power washer (electric with 1,650 psi)in March '07. I used it 4-5 times over a year and a half and then it quit working. I called the 1-800-537-4129 number on the front of the unit and was told that as it was out of the 1 year warranty period, they (Karcher) could not help me.

Karcher then gave me a 1-800-383-6584 number to call in order to troubleshoot the problem and get replacement parts. Upon calling that number, I was told by the parts people that these... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Smitty
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/7/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product
I have not tried a lot of pressure washers, but this one works just fine, right out of the box. Have cleaned the deck and siding and concrete porch. The nozzle that provides a rotating jet works very well, faster than the fan. It works as good or better than the gas powered ones I have rented in the past.
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials