Search
< Back to Product

PowerBOSS 20453 Gas Pressure Washers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Exclusive to these retailers
 
$464.58
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$389.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
PowerBOSS 20453 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (3)
Easy To Store (2)
Reliable (2)
Price (2)
High Quality (1)
Cons
Unreliable (1)
Low Quality (1)
75% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
37 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Travis H.
Baldwin, NY
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/22/13
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
No Love...
Received the pressure washer last week and have not been able to get it started. Left several messages for our Power Washer "expert" and have not been called back. After calling the general customer service line several times the best information we've received was to call our local Honda dealer and have them warranty repair it. Nice....

I've purchased several pieces from the direct.com sites and this is by far the worst experience. Guess it's back to shopping at the big box stores.
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Travis,
We apologize for the inconvenience! At the bottom of every page of our web site is a link to the Service Center locator and Technical Support; it lists PowerBOSS' toll free number: (800) 743-4115.

The Factory Warranty on your pressure washer is through the manufacturer. As a distributor we don't handle parts or service; that's why you were referred to your local Honda Small Engine Service. Briggs & Stratton would service the rest of the unit, since they make the PowerBOSS line.

There is a Troubleshooting Guide on page 10 of your Owner's Manual; it lists 7 things to try to get the engine started, with the 8th being "Call local service facility". One more thing you might want to try: pull the trigger on the spray gun & let the water run for a couple minutes to chase all the air out of the pump & avoid vapor lock (it's on Page 8 of the manual, but gets overlooked a lot).

We regret that you had to call several times to get through; it has been a busy Spring. We have more Customer Service Representatives in training, and will get them on the phones as quickly as possible.
more
Was this review helpful?
180
Anthony R.
Mastic Beach, NY
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/2/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
I've only used it 3 times so far, but find it better than expected.

Starts right up and performs flawlessly. Put it together in short time, all holes matched and all parts were present. Package was in good condition.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Anthony Recommends This PowerBOSS Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Joseph G.
Long Beach, NY
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Honda Engine? Maybe...
...But when the unit was shipped to my house, I immediately noticed the Briggs And Stratton sticker on the unit. Maybe it is a Honda Engine but I'm willing to bet the carburetor is Briggs And Stratton. It's not a total Honda machine.

I used this unit out of the box and it worked great. I put it in my garage for about two months (summer months) and I went to start it and of course it wouldn't start. My friend fixed it and it was the all too familiar carburetor problem indicative of these... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Joseph Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Joseph,
The title says "...with Honda Engine". The engine is really from Honda, uses Honda parts, and can be serviced under its Factory Warranty by an authorized Honda Small Engine service facility.

Any carburetor can clog when gas sits in it for months at a time. The volatile parts that make gasoline burn evaporate, leaving behind water and varnish, which won't burn & may prevent fresh gas from reaching the carb- so the engine won't start.

This can be prevented by using fresh gas with a Fuel Stabilizer every time you fill up a gas engine.

PowerBoss has an excellent reputation, and is part of the Briggs & Stratton family of companies.
more
Was this review helpful?
80
Glen
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/4/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Very Pleased So Far
I've never used a pressure washer before. This was easy to set up and begin using.

It started on the first pull but it is very loud though- that is why I only gave it a 4 rating. Seems like such a small engine could be quieter. I'm gonna have to look around and see if I can find some kind of muffler.

I've cleaned 4 vehicles so far, and it has done a great job. Seems to use a lot of gas though. The tip holder on the wand is very handy.
Was this review helpful?
60
David
Upper Marlboro, MD
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
A Quick Fire For Sure!
I purchased the PowerBOSS 20453 early this Summer. First out of the box I was surprised at how lightweight this puppy is.
It fires right up so easily every time with no button to prime the gas, and it's much more quiet than my Briggs & Stratton model.

I really like the quick change spray nozzles and the convenient storage caddy that's right on the wand. My model came with a black engine cover instead of the red as shown in the PED photo, and the Red looks better to me.

Although the... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Bill
Chestertown, NY
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/10/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good News / Bad News
Well first project was to clean my propane tank . Worked wonderfully.

Then the real test. I power washed my log cabin. 4000 outside square feet. Did a marvelous job.

Machine comments
Power, detergent mixer worked great.
Honda engine what can I say. Starts first time every time. Worked so well I ran out of gas twice as I got so involved in the work.
More than got what I paid for. Looking forward to a happy future.

Suggested improvements
Hose and gun attachments should be moved... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Gregg C.
Port Austin, MI
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/23/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerwasher
Received the washer in a very short time. Put it together in 10 minutes and started with first pull. Runs great. I'm only bummed on the color. The order said red in color, but it came in black. No big deal...
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Gregg,
The picture PowerBoss sent us is the one we used- we'll check with them and see if we can get a better one. We apologize for any disappointment!
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Dick
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/11/13
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Fine
I have just received the PowerBoss washer and used it only once. It worked just as advertised.

I need a bit more time with it before can make a solid comment, but I am optimistic. I note that the description states that a "2nd Story Nozzle" is included as a bonus. One did not accompany my machine.
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Dick,
The nozzle promotion is sponsored by PowerBoss and covers a specific period of time. We'll be happy to check to see if your order falls within the promotional period; then contact you directly.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Mark
Logan, KS
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/1/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Much Easier To Handle
We are getting along fine with this lightweight, easy starting power washer. It arrived within a few days and we mainly use it around the home.

We farm and have had a huge pressure washer for years that was too hard to handle for smaller projects, and even though I know this one probably will not last as long it is handy for a farmer with rods in his back- and it is even light enough my wife asks to use it!
Was this review helpful?
30
Bob S.
North Port, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 1/4/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Started On The First Pulll!
Like all Honda products the engine came through like a champ! I was disappointed that my high pressure spray nozzle didn't beat my old 1800 psi electric unit by as much as I expected.

I did however do a better job on my pool deck which is a painted surface.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Reliable, High Quality
Bob Recommends This PowerBOSS Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Paul
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/11/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Really Like The Soap Dispenser & Nozzles
I bought this to replace a 15 yr old washer and really like the soap dispenser and low pressure nozzle with the quick change nozzles making it easy to change the spray pattern.

It started right up after setup and and is easy to move.
Was this review helpful?
20
John
Stearns, KY
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/25/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Job
This pressure washer is amazing. It starts on the first pull an does an excellent job in washing. We love it!
Was this review helpful?
20
Ray M.
Mariposa, CA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/13/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Got It On Time
Thanks for the timely delivery. Put it together in about 15 minutes.

The tag on the Honda engine said the unit was shipped with no oil. I checked the dip stick and it looked like there was no oil. I added the supplied oil and tried to start the engine. No luck. I removed the air cleaner and noticed lots of oil. Then I checked the dip stick again and the oil level was way above full. So I drained the oil to the proper level, cleaned the air filter and the engine started on the first pull.
more
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Ray,
We'll be happy to check on your Bonus Item and respond to you directly! Please be aware that it is a 2 nozzle kit, so check your shipping box for a package about 5" x 8".
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Karen
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/6/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Buy
Once we got it started, it's been a good buy. Priming the engine before it was shipped would have helped. In NC, we get a lot of mildew and pollen.

The power of this one is very good, removing the mildew from the siding, as well as the stains on the driveway. Of course, where the stains were bad, a little bleach was added to the mixture.

I'm familiar with Honda engines, and I hope this one lasts like the rest.
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Karen,
According to Federal Law, the engine needs to ship without gasoline so it doesn't pose a fire/explosion hazard.

Please do not run bleach through a pressure washer pump- it will damage the seals and may void your warranty. For this reason, only pressure washer safe detergents should be used through the pump.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Brad
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/27/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Our First Pressure Washer
In the past we had borrowed a pressure washer from a friend to catch up on some cleaning chores around the outside of the house. We soon realised that we could use a pressure washer of our own. Using our limited experience from using our friends washer we set out to research pressure washers. We found so many catagories and options in this area it was difficult to sort it all out.

With our list of must-have features we purchased the PowerBOSS 20453. It had just the amount of pressure as... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Roger Z.
Lawrenceville,, GA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/6/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
I Have Limited Experience, But Getting Better With Practice
I lost one of the tips by not checking it was secure. So far I have run 5 tanks of gas through it.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable, Easy To Store
Roger Recommends This PowerBOSS Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Joe
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 11/7/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect
Honda Engine fired up the second pull.
It runs great.
Performed very well.
Was this review helpful?
10
Joe
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needed
I had to have the telescoping option due to the high eaves on the house.
This wand is great but be prepared to purchase some type of harness to help with the weight.
I lift weights and by the end of the afternoon my shoulders were in pain.
The harness is my next purchase and will be well worth the money.
Was this review helpful?
43
Jay
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 9/29/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
As Good As Advertised
Assembly was easy. You can't beat the Honda engine.

Pressure is excellent and the washing function works very well although changing spray tips and turning off the valve on the detergent reservoir when starting to rinse are somewhat cumbersome.

Still, I like this pressure washer and am very pleased with it.
Was this review helpful?
10
John
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/15/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Like A Dream
Works like a dream- I have cleaned the mold off my greenhouse and cleaned out crud from trash barrels.

The different nozzle tips included make ready to handle many tasks.
Was this review helpful?
10
Rodney H.
Hokes Bluff, AL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/8/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does The Job!
Great price, fast shipping, and it does the job!

What else can you ask for? I would buy from PED again.
Was this review helpful?
10
Christine C.
Brooksville, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/9/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Pleased And Relieved
I worked with Bill M. the pressure washer Product Expert on this site. He was patient and answered every one of my emails full of questions. Not once was he impatient, as I have found in local stores.

I live with my son who was injured overseas. It is important to pressure wash around his therapy pool to keep mold away here in Florida- it is very unhealthy. I always had trouble over the years starting any power equipment with the pull cord. I explained my situation to Bill and he suggested... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Ed
Richmond, IN
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/24/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
I seldom order equipment without physically seeing same. When I hesitantly ordered the PowerBoss, I was expecting to find fault with it when it arrived.

To my delight it was shipped quickly and very easy to assemble. After fueling and adding the specified oil oil provided, it started on the second pull. I have since used it 20 30 hours. The Honda engine starts on first pull and runs quieter than most.

This is the third powerwasher I have owned and the strongest and best in every... more
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Ed,
We've plugged in the General Pump Gutter Cleaner that you ordered- it's all good!
more
Was this review helpful?
10
James
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/21/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Totally Satisfied
Having never owned a power washer I investigated on line and reviewed this Model and also one locally at a Big Box store. I like this one from the reviews and ordered it.

I was amazed at how quickly I received the product. I ordered on Thursday and Fed X delivered on SATURDAY. I immediately put it together and used it that day.

I'm totally satisfied and if in the future I need power equipment will try Pressure Washers Direct.com first.
Was this review helpful?
10
Greg
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/28/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Problems
I bought this unit a month ago and have used it five times, even loaned it out to a friend. No problems.

The only negative would be to have the extra washer heads on the machine instead of on the wand. Dropped one and had a hard time finding it.
Was this review helpful?
10
B.a. C.
Greenville, SC
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/26/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does The Trick
Just finally used it this past week to pressure wash my home siding, and a variety of smaller projects, and it was easy to set up, easy to start, and easy to use.

Played with the various pressure settings and they too were easy. Cleanup for storage between usage no problems.

I'm very pleased- it does the trick for me for residential use!

A+ to the company for the process, the delivery, and the followup. Good pricing, too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful?
10
Tom K.
Holden, MA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/22/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerboss
Great washer, love the power and the independent washer bottle instead of a hose in a bucket. Does the job well and its easy to use. Don't use a water hose over 25 feet like the directions recommend or you will lose power and effectiveness! The Honda engine seems fine considering my wife used some 2stroke mix in the tank while I was away. True quality when its wifeproof!!
Was this review helpful?
10
Paul
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simple And Effective
Bought this power washer last year to finally get on board with gas and replace a failing electric model.

Starts easy it is a Honda and holds pressure. No maintenance so far and soap/cleaner resivour actually despenses unlike other models I have worked with.

Just bought a second one for my father in-law.
Was this review helpful?
10
Maryann
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/23/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Information
I purchased this item for my fiancÚ for Father's Day. He absolutely loves it. He has used it 2-3 times and he says it's really nice.

It has the Honda engine and starts on the dime each time. I'm a woman who knows nothing about power washers until I spent 3.5 hours on the computer doing research. I read many reviews for different power washers and priced them on many sites including big box and chain stores.

This site provided me with the best information on what would be best PSI... more
Was this review helpful?
11
Thomas
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 1/5/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Border Collie Tool
I've always want a pressure washer, but could never justify it. Our six month old Border Collie (who likes to dig - and the muddier the better) finally gave me the justification needed.

Besides cleaning mud off the concrete and flagstone, it has done wonders to my driveway. Acorn stains are still a pain, but overall this does a A+ job.

Starts first time, lots of pressure, no complaints!!!!
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Thomas,
We'd like to remind folks that pressure washers should never be used on pets, kids, or livestock- serious injury will occur!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joe
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 11/7/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needed
The Quick connect is very accommodating.
Was this review helpful?
00
Barry
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/12/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Like Advertised
Great machine! I used it to wash a cement bench that was black, without using any cleaner and it is now once again white.

I also used it without cleaner to power wash the back deck that had very thick mildew on it and then used an oil stain on it and it looks new again.

When you are doing a large job it is necessary to stop and start it frequently. One pull and it started every time. Easy start just like it advertises.
Was this review helpful?
00
Dave
Cincinnati, OH
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/4/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Two Good Purchases
I received the PowerBoss, and it was easy to assemble. I power washed the house siding, and the PowerBoss start on the first pull! All went well, it did a good cleaning job on the siding- problem free.

The Karcher 12" hard surface cleaner was really good at cleaning the front concrete walkway and stoop. Not only did it clean it fast, but without the usual unwanted spray that goes with normal wands.
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard D.
Loysville, PA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 10/15/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
To Do List Just Got Bigger!
Well I originally bought the Pressure Washer for the siding on the house. Then I read about cleaning concrete and decks. I don't have a lot of concrete but it is nice to get it clean again. I need to do a fall cleaning of the decks.

It is a very quiet running machine. Putting it together was easy also. I just think there could have been more explanation on the mixing ratio for the soaps and cleaners. I emailed PED and they got right back to me with a response the same day about the mixing... more
Was this review helpful?
00
M. H.
Laporte, IN
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 9/22/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine Delivers The Goods
Out of the box- setup was simple, although the supplied assembly instructions were mis-numbered. Had someone with no mech aptitude tried to use them for assembly there may have been confusion requiring a phone call to Tech Support.

That aside, the performance of this unit was flawless from the get-go. My first job was a residence with 80ft. of sidewalk. That's when I discovered that storing the tips on the wand and attaching them via a quick connect coupling was a really great design. I was... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gwen
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/30/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pressure Washer & Company
Before ordering my pressure washer, I asked Bill some questions, who answered them promptly. I ordered the pressure washer in the afternoon and it arrived the NEXT DAY!

It was easy to put together and started on the first pull. To me, that's huge because I've always had trouble with pull starts. The pressure washer is very light weight and easy to move compared to other models I've used.

Because of some of the other reviews, I ordered the nozzle that has the different tips in one nozzle.... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kurt
Bristol, CT
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerboss 2600
I used my new PowerBOSS 2600 PSI Pressure Washer with the Honda motor this weekend for the first time and was very satisfied with the unit. The engine started on the very first pull, very impressive, and engine noise much quieter than the Generac 2200gpm unit I had before purchasing this one, there is no comparison. The unit has plenty of spraying power.

The spray tips snap into the end, and have to be changed when going from applying the soap to rinse. One of the tips kept popping out of... more
Was this review helpful?
312
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials