Search
< Back to Product

Simpson 80166 Surface Cleaners Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
$69.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$69.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Simpson 80166 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
3.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (4)
Price (3)
Light Weight (2)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
Reliable (1)
Cons
Low Quality (2)
Too Light (1)
Packaging (1)
Durability (1)
Unreliable (1)
70% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
20 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Bill H.
New Bremen, OH
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 11/4/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Experience
I use it for speed, ease, and to control deflected spray along mulch and doors/windows. I recommend it. I heard rental locations charge a third of the price of this for a day of use.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Bill Recommends This Simpson Product
Bill's Experience With Pressure Washers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"After receiving an initial shipping damaged unit, the return and replacement of the pressure washer was seamless. I would recommend this company and have ordered product subsequently. The products and service represent quality."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Crystal B.
Lithonia, GA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/12/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Cheap Yet Worth The Price
Cheap. Lightweight and cheap. You have to go over the surface over and over. Not worth the money but for the price, okay.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
Crystal Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Chad S.
Chattanooga, TN
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/13/16
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Happy
The images on all of the advertising and even on the box make this product appear to be made of stainless steel. That is the only reason I chose this product over the other surface washer that i normally buy. It is plastic and is too light. Total waste of money unless you want to put some type of weight on it to hold it down.

I own a power washing business and i like to use these smaller surface cleaners on small patios, sidewalks and decks. I have owned several different sizes and brands.... more
Cons: Low Quality, Difficult To Use, Packaging, Too Light
Chad Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Chad,
I'm sorry you aren't happy with your purchase- the unit is supposed to hover over a surface so the nozzles can spin. If you need a weight to hold it down you're running too much pressure through it- your commercial pressure washer should be able to adjust the pressure down to a level where the unit operates properly.

For those researching this surface cleaner, a clarification to this review is in order. The casing is made of powder coated steel, exactly as described. The only plastic on the unit is the hub that covers the nozzle swivel.

The only part described as stainless steel are the nozzles- because that's the part that is stainless steel. The folks at Simpson stand behind this product exactly as described.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Chad,
Chad first and foremost thank you for your review. Please let met start off by saying that we appreciate your business and support of our Simpson brand. The surface scrubber you purchased is in fact made of steel except for the small plastic dome on the top of the unit. Nowhere on our carton do we imply that the entire scrubber is made from stainless steel. In addition we tested a unit in our test facility over the weekend with your exact same performance per your review and found it to be very easy to maneuver. Again we don't doubt your experience but wanted to ensure that our product lives up to its expectation.

Again we apologize for your experience and appreciate your feedback.

Thank you

Simpson Pressure Washer Team
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Sal
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/22/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Device!
Not used one of these before, but it is great! I stayed much dryer and the driveway was cleaned much faster. Used a fraction of the water - too!

Very much worth the cost.
Sal Recommends This Simpson Product
Sal's Experience With Pressure Washers Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Great company."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Marty K.
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/23/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Waist Of Money
This unit is poorly engineered and fails to rotate within minutes of operation. PED has been terrific about refunding the costs and even sent a second unit to me at no charge. They just don't work.

PED's professional attitude towards customer service will keep me coming back to them if they have another product I need.
Marty Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Marty,
I'm glad we could help, although I'm sorry this didn't work for you. Most folks that buy this surface cleaner haven't had a problem with it.

It is rated for pressure washers up to 3400 PSI, but they didn't give us a maximum GPM rating... if your pressure washer was pushing a large volume of water (more than 3 GPM) maybe that might have jammed it; but I didn't see where we asked you about that in the notes on your file.

Surface cleaners need to hover above the surface in order to work properly, so it's important not to push down while you're using them (that may have caused the wear marks on the underside of the casing). We have a large variety of Surface Cleaners to choose from; hopefully there is a model that will work well for you.

Thank you for your business, and we apologize for any inconvenience.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve B.
Montague, NJ
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/13/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fastest Way To Clean Epoxy Floor
Used cleaner to clean epoxy kitchen floor in a commercial setting. Worked great.

The fastest (and only) way to really clean that particular floor
Steve Recommends This Simpson Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph L.
Dunnellon, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/23/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy & Accurate Cleaning On Patio / Walks / Driveways
This unit saves a lot of time compared to using spray nozzels. It is very east to use!! since I am a bilateral amputee.
Joseph Recommends This Simpson Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bob S.
Mount Pleasant, SC
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/26/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Surface Cleaner!
I had originally purchased a different brand, but it was backordered and I decided to go with this one.

Great choice! It does great on concrete as well as decks!
Bob Recommends This Simpson Product
Was this review helpful?
00
P. J.
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/12/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
My concrete driveway is 200' long and lined with tall pines. This attachment really made the job much easier.

The spray nozzles did get clogged and the recommended procedure of back flushing did not work. So I let the attachment thoroughly dry out, about a week, then took an air hose to the nozzles. That did the trick.

I also recommend power washing all loose debris off the surface before using this.
P. Recommends This Simpson Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
P.,
Your suggestion to hose the big gunk off the surface first is a good one!
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Rick S.
Kent, OH
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 4/4/16
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worked Great!
I was very pleased with the Simpson Surface Cleaner I purchased. It made quick work of my patio cleaning. Normally a 2 day job, but did it in 1/2 day.

No clogging, no problems. Love it!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Rick Recommends This Simpson Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Benny C.
Savannah, GA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/28/16
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
This Product Does Not Work!
The first Simpson 15" Surface Cleaner that I ordered did not work at all. The arm underneath the unit that is supposed to rotate rapidly to clean the surface would not rotate at all.

I call Pressure Washer Direct and they sent me a second unit to replace the first unit. The second 15" Surface Cleaner did the same as the first unit.

Pressure Washer Direct refunded my money for the defective unit.
Benny Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Benny,
It seems odd that there would be 2 lemons in a row; we will keep an eye on subsequent orders to see if there is an ongoing issue.

In order for the surface cleaner to work properly there has to be enough pressure and GPM from your pressure washer to drive the spray arm. Simpson didn't give us a minimum PSI, but it will probably take at least 2000 PSI to get it to work; 2500 PSI and up would probably be best. It handles a maximum of 3400 PSI.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Benny,
Hello my name is Zac and I am the Assistant Service Manager for the FNA Group who manufactures the Simpson line of gas pressure washers.
First and foremost thank you for your purchase of our Simpson Gas Pressure Washer; if you need further assistance please contact me directly at 1-847-621-8954 or via email at zdawson@fna-group.com. I would be more than happy to help resolve any issues or questions you may have.

Thank you
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Arthur P.
Sebastian, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 2/25/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cleaned The Drive Way !!
Cleaned concrete like a pro. When using try to apply the least amount of pressure on the disk. Other than that it is what it is. it works fine.
Arthur Recommends This Simpson Product
Arthur's Experience With Pressure Washers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My drive way never looked better."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John P.
Kent, WA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 1/28/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Product
More than pleased, I saved time and water expense, better yet the water blast is contained as so my person is not soaked.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
John Recommends This Simpson Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Todd C.
Lafayette, LA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 11/19/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Marginal
I purchased this cleaner after purchasing Simpson 3200 PSI washer from a big box store (specs for this cleaner are max 3400psi).

The day I received this cleaner I hooked it up to my pressure washer and it worked fine for about 20 minutes. I turned off the pressure washer and returned 10 minutes later to continue cleaning my walkway. It didn't work at all. The pressure would not turn the spindle on the cleaner and if it did, it was so slow that nothing but a spot got cleaned. There is... more
Todd Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Todd,
This surface cleaner has a 90 day Factory Warranty from Simpson that covers defects in materials & workmanship.

Please call them right away, toll free, at 877-362-4271 to report the problem so they can replace the unit under warranty.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Todd,
Todd C first and foremost thank you for your purchase of one of our Simpson gas pressure washers and accessories. We greatly apologize for any issue you may be having with your accessory. Please contact Zac Dawson at zdawson@fna-group.com as he would be more than happy to help you.

We look forward to providing you a solution and getting you back to pressure washing.

Thank you

Simpson Pressure Washer Team
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary H.
Lexington, IN
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 5/24/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Poor Customer Service
Have not used the product.
Gary Recommends This Simpson Product
Was this review helpful?
03
Robert H.
Dayton, OH
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/24/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!!
This surface cleaner is well built and does a great job! I used the Simpson Surface cleaner on my driveway and sidewalk. Easy to use and no swirl marks! The concrete driveway and sidewalk look brand new!
Robert Recommends This Simpson Product
Robert's Experience With Pressure Washers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Great Website, easy to use! Virtually every part or accessory you will ever need..."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Deb S.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/7/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Time Saving
I spent hours cleaning my drive and it still looked striped from the pressure washer wand.
My neighbor came to the rescue with his Simpson surface cleaner. I completed the drive in less than half the time that it took me previously.

I ordered one for myself that same day.

I did have to turn the 2 nozzle heads on the cleaner because it kept stopping and with a little tweaking the machine spins like it should.
Deb Recommends This Simpson Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Christopher
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/3/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Stay Away - Simpson Does Not Support This Product
I ordered this this through PressureWashersDirect.com and they have been wonderful throughout this whole ordeal with Simpson. They have recommended an alternative surface cleaner, BE 14" Whirl-A-Way 3100PSI surface cleaner, that I will be purchasing from them in the future.

I had an issue with the Simpson surface cleaner where it was not cleaning properly, even when using a pressure washer (3300psi and 3.0gpm) which was right at the top of its specs. I contacted Simpson about the... more
Christopher Does Not Recommend This Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Christopher,
Thanks for the feedback. We take care of our customers here and we are forwarding this over to Simpson so they can get it together.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Christopher,
Hello my name is Zac and I am the Assistant Service Manager for the FNA Group who manufactures the Simpson line of gas pressure washers.
First and foremost thank you for your purchase of our Simpson Gas Pressure Washer; if you need further assistance please contact me directly at 1-847-621-8954 or via email at zdawson@fna-group.com. I would be more than happy to help resolve any issues or questions you may have.

Thank you
more
Christopher's Experience With Pressure Washers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I had an issue where the manufacture wouldn't support the product they manufacture and ship. PressureWashersDirect.com stepped in and has resolved this issue. I would defiantly recommend purchasing products from PressureWashersDirect.com."
 more
Was this review helpful?
32
Diane H.
Lake Jackson, TX
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/26/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
An Absolute Must For Pressure Washing
This accessory cut down my sidewalk and driveway cleaning time by 75%! It is fabulous!!
Diane Recommends This Simpson Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Gus
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/4/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Recommend The Product.
I used it today and it works great, it took 1/3 of the time it use too. I should have bought one a long time ago.
Gus Recommends This Simpson Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials