Your Cart @ Pressure Washers Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Yamaha PW3028 Gas Pressure Washers Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$899.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$949.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Yamaha PW3028 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Features (3)
Exceeded Expectations (3)
Quiet (3)
Easy To Use (3)
High Quality (2)
Cons
Difficult To Use (2)
Expensive (1)
None (1)
Durability (1)
Unreliable (1)
81% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
19 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Pressure Washer Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
122 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
5351 Helpful Votes
Pressure Washers Direct Recommended

Yamaha is one of the leading manufacturers of commercial outdoor power equipment today. This model has been designed for the Do It Yourself homeowner who wants a top of the line pressure washer, or for someone just getting started with their own pressure washing company and wants a great quality machine.

The Yamaha engine and the CAT commercial-grade pump makes this machine very reliable and long lasting.

All of these components wrapped into one heavy duty, compact frame makes this... more
Brian Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
3414
Turbo
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
Love my PW3028! I shopped around for different power washers in the 3000 psi/30 gpm size range. I have used and owned in the past some of the cheaper units from Home Depot, Lowes, etc and while they did the job, I had to work on them occasionally. Wands were cheap, spray tips wear out quickly, an occasional pump or engine issue, frame/chassis are cheap and easily damaged. So I decided to look further into the better brands, John Deere, Yamaha, Karcher, and a few other commercial grade... more
Turbo Recommends This Yamaha Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Turbo,
We would like to point out that if you live close enough to a big box store to get a Yamaha, you will pay tax on your purchase and have to have a vehicle large enough to haul it home. We can save time, money, and effort for a lot of folks!
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Brandon G.
Towanda, PA
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
30
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Car Lot 1
Do not buy this product! Yamaha has always made great products, so why not pay the extra $$ and get a long lasting quality machine? Wrong!

The soaper is never working corectly from not drawing the soap in to pushing water into the soaper. Every time we use it, it is a fight to get it to work correctly. Yamaha customer service on this problem is useless. The Yamaha factory rep, not the dealer but the yamaha rep= useless.
soaper = junk
pull cord= broken 3 times
spray wand= leaks
Cons: Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Durability
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Brandon,
I didn't see where you had purchased your pressure washer from us, so I'm sorry- I don't know if you're still covered by the Factory Warranty, and we can't take your case to our Yamaha rep for help. If you purchased your unit from us but under another name please email us at service@pressurewashersdirect.com so we can ask our rep to step in and assist you.

This unit comes with a 1 year Commercial use and 3 year Consumer use Factory Warranty. Provided you are within the warranty period, you may want to use the Yamaha Power Products Service Locator to find Factory Authorized Service in your area.

You may want to call around to see who has the shortest turn-around time. Please be sure to bring a copy of your invoice with you if you take the unit in for service.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Brandon,
Yamaha would be happy to help as we stand behind our product. Please supply Brandon with the information he needs so we can support you.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Lawrence M.
Murieta, CA
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/23/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love This Machine
It started right off. The thing I like the most is the idle down feature. When you first start it, it is idling, as soon as you squeeze the trigger the engine speeds up and when you release the trigger it drops back to idle.

I am very happy that I stretched my budget for this one.
Lawrence Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Keith
Total Helpful Votes
46 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect!!!
This is a perfect power washer. With the huge muffler and idle down feature, this unit is very quiet. The engine starts on the first pull, and is easy on gas.

The hose, wand, and nozzle are all very good quality. Of course, the CAT pump quality is legendary.

Nothing to not like about this unit.
Was this review helpful?
465
Kellon O.
Tillamook, OR
Total Helpful Votes
46 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Has To Be The Best "non Commercial" Machine On The Market!!!
I'm a 27 year old log truck driver on the Oregon Coast. And if you know the Oregon Coast, then you know we get rain and mud! I wash my truck almost every night and let me tell you... This is the machine for the job!!! The Cat pump is 2nd to none! Puts out plenty of pressure and gets the job done quickly!

One of the best features, other than the idle down to save fuel while you're not pumping water, is the 5 different spray settings at the tip of the wand. To be able to go from 800 psi for... more
Was this review helpful?
467
Tommy A.
Hattiesburg, MS
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
47 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Compact Pressure Washer Money Can Buy
I needed a pressure washer and I looked everywhere to find a special one to to fill my needs.

This is the ultimate machine for cleaning decks & concrete. The thing about it, it's quiet and has an adjustable nozzle on the tip of the wand so you don't have to stop it to install a tip every time.

You can choose 800 PSI for light stuff or switch to 25 degree or 45 degree for more pressure; & the Cat pumps are very durable. And, it's pretty good on fuel consumption.
Was this review helpful?
417
Danny
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 9/4/13
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow
This is my 3rd power washer. This is light years ahead of a cheap one. Started first pull.

You need both hands to hold wand- this has POWER. No tips to change out just turn dial. Quality hose, no junk here. I like that it idles down when not spraying. Runs smooth, does not vibrate around like others. Nice wheels move easy.

You pay for what you get. I just love my new power washer!
Pros: Features, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: None
Danny Recommends This Yamaha Product
Danny Would Recommend Pressure Washers Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping. No problems at all."
 more
Was this review helpful?
210
David
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 6/27/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Great Service, Unreliable Pressure Washer
Bought this Pressure Washer based on the 5 star reviews and "Prosumer" grade.

I own a Yamaha motorcycle and have a Yamaha outboard engine on my boat, both are great products and have proven to be very reliable, so figured I couldn't go wrong with a Yamaha Pressure Washer. WRONG!!!

Delivery of the washer went as planned, but the hose was crushed in several places and I was worried the stainless steel braid might be compromised and not hold up to 3000 PSI. PWD arranged to have a... more
Was this review helpful?
224
Tim F.
Locust, NC
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow
This is the best pressure washer I have ever used. There is no vibration in the wand... just plain smooth action. Makes the job easier and a lot less physical.

Buy it... worth the $.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Tim Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
180
Mike T.
Reedsport, OR
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/23/13
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Use Impressions
Starts easily. Automatic throttle-down works well. Simple assembly... just put on the wheels and attach the hose. Details seem to be well thought out. Instructions are good.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Light Weight, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Mike Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
172
Robin S.
Neenah, WI
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 8/5/13
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
Easy to use, easy to setup, and it works flawlessly. I especially like the idle feature.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Features, Durable
Robin Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
140
Richard
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Performance So Far. Some Design Flaws.
On/off turn knob is in poor location - easy to bump when pulling starting rope. In fact on my 2nd time using, I accidentally broke the switch when I was trying to start the motor and experienced kickback with the starter rope pulling my hand back and my hand hit the plastic switch.

I notified Yamaha and not only did they refuse to replace the part for free, but I was also told there was no design issue. After I purchased a new switch, before installing, I carefully ground down the end of... more
Richard Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
121
Roy A.
Central Square, NY
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Washer Needs A Few Changes
Purchased through my local Yamaha dealer and have used about 10 tanks of gas. I use it to clean my heavy equipment and anything else I want to blast. Overall I love it but it has a few nagging flaws that I am surprised slipped through testing.

The tilting head needs a firmer locking option it will move with just a little shaking or light bump.

The kill switch is in the path of the pull starter and if you are not careful when you let go of the handle it will shut the washer off.

My... more
Roy Recommends This Yamaha Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Roy,
If you'd like to pass along your suggestions directly to Yamaha you can call them, toll free, at (800) 962-7926.
more
Was this review helpful?
91
Bill M.
Pearland, TX
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/23/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Quality Machine
Had an electric Karcher X series 2000 psi which lasted about a year and a half - but did not lubricate the pump when not in use - still should have lasted longer for the price. The Yamaha is definitely a much better quality washer - but should be, at almost 3 times the price.

So far have pressure washed the driveway and a fence - very good results. Like the fact that the wheels will never go flat, all the fittings are brass not plastic and the unit is fairly compact.

Had an issue with... more
Bill Recommends This Yamaha Product
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Bill,
Almost all consumer-grade pressure washers that use a siphon tube run the detergent with the water through the pump- that's why using caustic chemicals like bleach will damage the seals & void the warranty. Pro units may have 'downstream' soap application, meaning the soap is introduced after the pump.

To introduce chemicals after the pump you may want to take a look at this selection of Soap Applicators.
more
Was this review helpful?
70
Dennis S.
Monticello, AR
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/9/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
High Quality Prosumer Product!
Right out of the box this washer gave the impression it was built to last. It has a sturdy frame with attention to details such as a practical wand holder and handle fold down for compact storage. CAT pump is a testimony to the commitment to excellence. I did not know what to expect from a Yamaha engine but I am now convinced it is first rate. Great idea to have one nozzle with five different settings!

When I first set it up, I checked to make sure there was engine oil. It did not seem to... more
Dennis Recommends This Yamaha Product
Dennis's Experience With Pressure Washers Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Very good experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Norman T.
Babson Park, FL
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 3/29/15
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best I Have Used So Far
It cut my work time in half. I love it! I'll be buying one more soon, but the bigger one this time.

But I'm giving it 5 out of 5 stars but it's even better so for the money that's worth every penny.
Norman Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Tim K.
Chugiak, AK
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine But.....
Soap siphon pressurized tank and blew all soap out. Causes engine to cycle when should be at trigger off idle. Supply water runs through siphon when unit is shut off.
Tim Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Lonnie W.
Mcneil, AR
Purchased from Pressure Washers Direct
Purchased 7/15/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Starting Difficulty
I have only used the power washer one time to clean my carport and deck. I started it maybe 4 or 5 time. It was very difficult to start every time. Took about 5 minutes each time. I carefully followed starting instructions to the letter.
Pros: Quiet, Fast
Cons: Difficult To Use
Brian, the Pressure Washer Expert
Product Expert
Lonnie,
I don't have a copy of the Owner's Manual, so I'd like to just mention squeezing the spray gun trigger and letting the water run for a couple minutes before starting the engine (it drives any air out of the pump, avoiding vapor lock); and making sure you're using fresh gasoline (less than a couple weeks old).

If you're still having problems starting the engine, please give the folks at Yamaha a call, toll free, at (800) 962-7926. They may have more suggestions for you, and if it needs service they'll be able to let you know the Factory Warranty repair location closest to you.

Please have the serial number of your unit handy if you call Yamaha in case they ask for it.
more
Was this review helpful?
64
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials